Lies!

Blogging is avoidance behavior for me. I can’t study for my board exam, I have to write a post!

So, when my kids are pulling the, “I can’t go to bed, I need (insert diversion of your choice….potty, drink, book, song, etc.)” I have to remind myself that this is human nature and work to remain calm.

Lying is human nature, too. We all do it. Every single one of us. It took me a long time to figure that out growing up. My mother used to say that she never lied and in fact I would watch her tell truths that were actually very hurtful to others. She was not trying to be mean, she just believed that honesty was the best policy no matter what. I tend to disagree with that on some level.

I will never lie to a patient about their health or their treatment or their prognosis. But I do lie about whether or not I am having a good day. They don’t want to hear my problems.

And I do lie to my kids sometimes to protect them from negative things in the world that they are not ready to hear.

I find myself exaggerating time spent on hold or embellishing stories for dramatic effect. These are lies, but I don’t often think of them that way.

Back to my mother. For years I really thought she didn’t lie. Now I know the truth, but I spent quite a long time holding myself up to an impossible standard and failing miserably. Tons of guilt, self loathing. What was wrong with me? Why couldn’t I be perfect?

The truth is, we aren’t perfect. We are not meant to be perfect. We are, however, meant to be kind and loving to everyone else. If that means a little white lie, I am at peace with that.

Leave a Reply

