To Pee or Not to Pee

It struck me today that I spend most of my waking hours needing to urinate, or as I affectionately call it, needing to pee.

I know this is random. But hear me out.

All day long I am making decisions. Not life or death ones necessarily. No. I am deciding if I have the time to pee.

Usually I don’t.

For a long time, I would avoid drinking anything aside from my cup of delicious coffee bright and early in the morning. Coffee is necessary. I would not drink anything else because I did not want to make urine. At the end of the day, when I was safely home, I would play catch up, guzzling tons of liquid so I could stay up all night going to the bathroom.

One day, I decided that was stupid. So I started drinking water during the day. I thought if I drink I will just have to make the time to pee. Nope. As it turns out, I am just way, way more uncomfortable all day long.

The only time I was any good at this timely urination thing was when I was pregnant. As it so happens, you are more likely to have incontinence when you have a 15 pound uterus full of baby sitting on your bladder. Yes. I did pee my pants.

I used to think of my bladder being the bladder of steel, like a fifty gallon drum. Now I worry that it is actually like a deflated tire, lying limply there in my pelvic cavity when not full to overflowing.

At some point I am gonna have to pay the piper for this…

4 thoughts on “To Pee or Not to Pee

Leave a Reply

