Balance

I have been working until almost 7PM the past couple of weeks. I cannot seem to keep my head above water. Too much work. It is not like I can just leave this stuff undone. People are counting on me.

I miss my kids.

They go to bed at 8PM. I get them up at 6:30AM so we can get to daycare by 7AM. Plus I was on call all last week/weekend. Not nearly enough time with them.

Sometimes I think I could just walk away from this job. But…meh…I am not sure that I could. I DO enjoy it.

I love my kids more.

Aaaarrrrrggghhh!!!!!!!!!!! Where is my work life balance?!?!!?! Give it back!

I used to think it was hard being a woman in this profession. But really it is much harder being a mom in medicine.

2 thoughts on “Balance

  1. I came across your blog while reading other blogs written by mama doctors. I’m not a doctor (I’m a nurse and then I went to law school because I thought I wanted to do health policy work, and now I have a 2.5 year old son and a 7 month daughter), but I have this huge sense that I did everything wrong and I should have gone to medical school instead of everything that I did, hence trying to find everything I can by real people actually doing what I’m wishing I had done. BUT I just don’t know if I could put myself through all the training now that I’m a mom. I’d basically be in school/residency until my kids are teenagers, and I don’t know if it’s worth missing so much of their lives for. So I continue to read and mull things over, and I try not to have too much regret. I love this glimpse into what balancing career and motherhood looks like. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

