Magical

“Formerly, when religion was strong and science weak, men mistook magic for medicine; now, when science is strong and religion weak, men mistake medicine for magic.” – Thomas Szasz

Everyday I encounter patients who have an unrealistic expectation of what I am capable of doing.

“I need for you to make me better by tomorrow, I am leaving on vacation!”

I can’t. I can’t fix you. And the drugs I prescribe might help, but not that fast. If you are better by tomorrow, it was your body that did you the favor, not your doctor.

There is also this perception that the more tests you do, the better you are. Acute care facilities do X-rays and blood tests so often not because it is evidence based or because they are providing better care. They do it because they can make more money off of you.

So bottom line: Medicine and doctors…we are mere tools. Be an educated consumer. Don’t be afraid to ask if something is really necessary and feel empowered to say no when it isn’t. There is no such thing as magic!

2 thoughts on “Magical

Leave a Reply

