The Deli Lady

At the grocery store in town there is a beautiful woman who works in the deli who has befriended my kids.

My daughter likes to wear her tiara shopping and my son likes to bring various airplanes to show off. She always teases them about giving her their tiaras and airplanes while she is giving them slices of cheese and turkey. They always yell, “NO!!!!” and try to hide, laughing. She never looks askance at them (or me) when they are rowdy, even when other customers are frowning at us.

I don’t even know her name, I am ashamed to say.

And she does not know who I am.

This morning when I told the kiddos we were going to the grocery store they decided they wanted to take something for the “Deli Lady”.

My daughter picked one of her tiaras. It was missing a few of the rhinestones but it was one of her favorites. My son picked one of his planes. It was a cardboard one and the wings were a bit floppy from being played with very intensely for a few weeks.

They were incredibly proud to be sharing their things and this woman, instead of turning her nose up at their rather worn offerings, saw them for the treasures that they really were and fawned all over them for it.

So tonight, I am grateful. I am grateful for my kids and their budding generosity. I am grateful that I have the means to give them toys to share. And I am super grateful for strangers that are willing to play along and love my kids almost as much as I do.

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

