Sweaty

When I run, my path always takes me through a large local cemetery.

Since I have been practicing for so long in this community, it occurred to me today that there are probably people I have cared for at the end of their lives who have been buried here. That was a weird thought to pop into my head this morning after the hundreds of times I have been through there. It is an honor, really, to be trusted to be a part of one of the most sacred parts of life but it felt strange to run headlong into it this morning.

There is an older section that I wander through periodically, looking at the tombstones. It always strikes me how many children and young adults are buried here. As a mom, I find it hard to wrap my mind around losing one of my children. I wonder how it would feel if I had seven or eight and lost half of them. Does it get easier? Would I feel it less?

These are the things I think about when I am sweaty. And a bit smelly.

Leave a Reply

