The Truth

My closest friend in medical school was the smartest woman in our class. We challenged each other academically and I loved that. She was outgoing and flamboyant and I was the quiet wallflower. Being around her was always exciting and interesting.

She also was a master manipulator. I realized this the week before graduation when I found out she was having an affair with a nephrology attending and telling her kids that his name was my husband’s name so if they talked about him around her own husband (a neurosciences professor that she had married after breaking up his marriage) that he would think they meant someone else.

I cut off contact with her right after that. We had been planning a graduation party together but I could not bring myself to do it. I was friends with her husband for crying out loud and I had no idea what I should do with my knowledge. Tell him? I couldn’t figure it out, so I disappeared.

I was also supremely ticked at this nephrologist for being complicit in the use of my husband’s name. The prick would look me in the eye on rounds and teach me extra acid-base crap not because he cared. It was a way to get closer to her.

I am a lot older now. I understand better that everyone is flawed including me. I don’t want to ever see or speak to either of them again (forgiveness does not mean allowing yourself to be taken advantage of again) but I am willing to admit that I have no insight into the truth of their lives. Is there some way of justifying what they did? Dunno. Fortunately, it is not my job to figure that out.

And that, my friends, is why I do NOT watch Grey’s Anatomy. Too much like real life. Also, CPR does not look even close to that in reality, FYI. Sorry.

10 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. I’ve never watched an episodes of Grey’s Anatomy. I never really got into it. It is always tough when your closest friend use you. I’ve gotten rid of a few relationships like that recently, too.

    Like

  2. Hmm. I’m pretty sure everything portrayed on tv is actually how it happens in real life. Thanks to tv I’m practically a doctor. Who needs all all that fancy book learnin’ when reruns of ER are just as good?

    Like

  3. Oh, and in real life, the hospital store rooms are always stuffed so full of shit that there is not really that much room for a quickie. But you can probably sneak a nap standing up in there since it’s so packed….

    Like

Leave a Reply

