Normandy

I stood on the beaches of Normandy.  On that day, there were clouds and a stiff cold wind that blew the drizzle right into my face.  I had seen the pictures of the D-Day landings growing up with childish fascination, not fully comprehending.  And yet standing there where those men stood, touching the damp sand with my hand, I could feel them.  This was a real place.  There were real human beings who bled here and died here. The enormity of their sacrifice and the miracle of what they accomplished became a bit more real for me that day.  I will never really understand, but I am grateful.

2 thoughts on “Normandy

  1. We were unbelievably lucky to have that generation of men to do the impossible. I wonder if today’s generation of men could accomplish such a thing as they incubate in their parents basements well into their twenties and fill prescriptions for ADHD and try to figure out what the world owes them? For the most part I think we produce big children but very few men.

    Like

    • Amen. I like to think that given the situation, we would all “man up”. I hope I am not being overly optimistic. In the end only events would tell but I hope we never have to find out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

