Cinderella Moments

I watch my daughter parade around in her blanket, strategically draped across her shoulders to make a princess gown. She positively glows! She knows she is beautiful.

Someday, that will change. The insecurities will surface.

And she will spend the whole rest of her life trying to feel beautiful again.

Every once in a while, she will capture it, if only for a few hours, only to return to that tormented and tortured world in her mind where she is not ever good enough.

I wish I could insulate her from all of that. But I don’t know how when I struggle with it myself.

My only consolation is that there is not a single woman anywhere who is completely at peace with who they are, no matter how expensive their smile or how affirming their upbringing.

Secretly, we are all the same.

6 thoughts on “Cinderella Moments

  1. Mine is twenty-five now. She walks with a sensual confidence and, around me, plays with her hair ( other relatives have told her it’s annoying). When I treated myself to a brow lift for unusually “sagging” eyes that misled everyone to label me “tired”, I remember her saying to me in frustration ” Will you be happy with yourself now.” Ouch – it really hurt. She and I had to have a long discussion.

    I felt a little like I betrayed her by doing it, like I had undone all the confidence I pumped into her. It turns out she had her own insecurities despite her obvious beauty, inside and out.

    Thanks for sharing about your daughter!

    Like

  2. As a mother of three daughters, now all in their 20’s, I can so relate to what you share here. Never having sons, I don’t know what male insecurities are as they grow up. I’ve never been very fashionable – mostly just presentable for work in thrift-store clothing. I have expensive taste but a light pocketbook 🙂 I tried diligently to raise them to appreciate their inner qualities and not compare themselves to others. Mostly they are pretty secure, so, maybe I did it a little bit right…

    Thanks for the post.

    Like

  3. True and sad. As I cruise the online dating world, the average-looking men of 60+ whose essays say “Write if you are amazingly sexy-looking”, and advertise for women aged “30 and up” are a real downer. What a bunch of privileged dweebs, and what a lot of pressure on women to compete against each other for the attention of dweebs. I prefer not, which is partly why I am still having no luck on the sites.

    Best of luck with your daughter. I believe you will be successful at negotiating the best path possible, for you are intelligent, logical, self-aware, empathetic, and have developed patience from dealing with…(you saw it coming 🙂 patients. You have the tools you need to ask the Socratic questions that will empower your daughter at each age and stage to reach empowering decisions for herself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

