…But I AM Afraid of Facebook!

IMG_9768

Sometimes things just seem to tower over you. Life seems so insurmountable, buried under the weight of a ton of… stuff.

I have this dream. I want to live in a tiny house out in the boonies and raise my own food, make my own clothes, and never touch an electronic device again unless I am blogging.

That being said, it is not my life. I don’t know if it could ever be my life. I am not sure that I possess the courage it would take to grab that dream.

Today, however, I was pondering how to simplify my life right here, right now.

Sanity demands it.

So I deleted Facebook.

Truthfully, it is not MY Facebook. I use my husband’s account because if there is one thing employers hate it is physicians on social media (As well as unofficial, unsanctioned blogs as it turns out, but screw that!). And I did not want to get entangled in distressing people sending me friend requests disturbing my zen.

Except that Facebook incognito has not really been that much fun. It is still extremely negative. Sometimes hurtful.

It is also becoming increasingly difficult to weed through all of the people using their profiles to sell snake oil supplements and weight loss powders and all manner of political crap to get to the interesting bits about people’s lives.

So, since I have not seen anything on there that I truly enjoyed in weeks, I deleted it.

So far it feels good. I actually feel lighter. Who knew it was weighing me down that much? It was worrisome trying to like everyone’s pictures of their kids so they didn’t get their feelings hurt. I did not like the me that was keeping track of who was liking or not liking the pictures that I posted of my own kids.

Now my mind is starting to feel less cluttered. That feels super nice.

28 thoughts on “…But I AM Afraid of Facebook!

  1. Well said~ I only blog as well, my job also “frowns” on Social Media accounts… ours actually have to be “registered” LOL~ I also only blog — no Facebook for me~ who has time anyway?

    Like

  2. Wow!! I would someday like to try this out too. I am not proud of the time I spend “facebooking” everyday 😦 I would delete my facebook now if not for the “groups” where we post all the announcements and files for school. Will probably do this after I graduate! 🙂 A pat on the back to you! 🙂

    Like

    • Sachi ! So cool to see you on this site! When do you get a break? Where are you in your program? In the states I hear the term residency a lot… you are seeing patients , right?

      Like

      • Hi b4thirty8! 😀

        WordPress suggested this blog to me, most probably because you followed it too! 🙂 Glad to see you here, too! 😀 This blogosphere is a small world after all! 🙂

        I am currently in my third year! I have 1 more year of classroom learning, 1 year of junior internship, and 1 year of senior internship before I get to residency! 😀

        Like

  3. I can understand where you are coming from. I love me Facebook however because I can keep in touch with friends I grew up with. I live very far from where I grew up and I miss a lot of these people terribly. I was so grateful for Facebook allowing us to have a forum where we can all get together and talk and, believe it or not, act really stupid hahaha. I regularly tell my friends their kids are ugly and they look like they smell hahaha. And they give as good as they get.

    Like

  4. After I read your article, I shared it on Facebook. When I realized what I’d just done, I saw the irony. You won’t see it on Facebook but its off in cyberspace–destination Facebook.

    Like

  5. I just recently removed the link that automatically sent my blog posts to Facebook. I could tell from my blog dashboard that the majority of my traffic to my blog was not coming from Facebook and, yes, my feeling were getting hurt because my posts are personal, not rants. Every now and then I might send one to FB, but I’ll admit, I’d like the friends that will message me long before they will dial my phone, to leave Facebook world and connect with me in a different way.

    Like

    • I am forcing other modes of communication… Email and such. My EHR is driving me crazy at the clinic with its fragmentation. I cannot afford to waste precious time on Facebook. The handful of friends that I want to maintain contact with all have email. I love junk email filters!

      Like

  6. Facebook is getting so creepy, and people post such boring stuff there. I’d delete it right away (again) if it wasn’t for my Italian friends there. Facebook is THE tool we use to keep in touch.

    Like

  7. If it is useless, sure you are right deleting it. Especially if your superiors get annoyed… For me it is a way to get in touch easy and quickly. Not like with one of my parents’ friends to whom I write paper letters:)

    Like

      • Oh I know, I am not wasting my time admiring the selfies either;))) You are absolutely right cutting all the useless things away. As to the letters… One is waiting for me to reply, and it is such a pain… Not only I have difficulties to write, but I am also “hitting the buttons”, and then I don’t know what to do: to laugh or get frustrated.

        Like

  8. Congratulations! I can’t imagine life without the ‘net, but I find FB evil. Well, not the software so much as the way people use it. My children (adults) have gotten into terrible frays over FB stuff.

    One step at a time…I’ll send you some seeds so you can start that garden 😉

    Like

  9. I agree, it felt really good to delete it, and I don’t care that people look at me funny when I tell them “I don’t participate in social media.” I felt lighter for a long time. 🙂 Good for you!!

    Like

  10. I like my Facebook. I don’t put much on about myself but I am too nosey in everybody else’s business to give it up 😛 But I am sure my husband would love it if I followed your footsteps and give it up! (Yep. Guilty of facebooking when he’s talking to me….)

    Like

Leave a Reply

