Roses

IMG_9206

“True love is like ghosts, which everyone talks about and few have seen.” – Francois de La Rochefoucauld

One of the cool things about doing what I do is that I get to hear everyone’s secrets. All day, every day, women are spilling their guts to me. So I know I am not alone.

This is why Fifty Shades of Grey is so popular. The fantasy is so much better than the reality for many of us.

Maybe that is actually so for most of us?

As I get older and see my youth slipping away, there are times I am overcome with jealousy. My dreams for reckless, consuming love are lost, replaced by complacency and mutual comfort. Not that it isn’t love. It is. But it is not the fantasy.

How does one find peace?

17 thoughts on “Roses

  1. Life and relationships are what we make them. Sometimes, you just have to be ballsy and shake it up, if that’s what you want šŸ˜‰ (but I don’t know as I’d listen to me, being alone for so long…haha!)

    Like

  2. I love getting older – more wisdom, ability to prioritise, realise the joy of smelling the roses, dressing the way I like, wearing purple hair, not worrying about how people think about me, not worrying about finding someone to love (37 years married) – growing old is how you look at it, you can be young but be old, or you can be old but young. Ageing isn’t a choice but the choice is yours how you dance with it – with joy or with sorrow. I’ll take joy any day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The only thing is… fantasies don’t take you out to dinner Friday night and they don’t bring you soup when you have the flu. They live best in the imagination. They’re like vampires (the non-Twilight kind anyway); and don’t fare well in the light of day.

    This comment brought to you by: Learned the Hard Way.

    Thoughtful post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

