First Day Of School

IMG_3753.JPG

“Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only the cat died nobly.” – Arnold Edinborough

Today was the first day of “real” school for my son. He has gone to “school” in the form of daycare for some time now, so it was a bit anticlimactic for him except that he got to have a brand new Ninja Turtle backpack and a snazzy uniform.

Mind you, the child has only seen about a 2 minute clip of a Ninja Turtle episode in his life, but by golly he can rattle off the names Leonardo, Donatello, Raphael, and Michelangelo with an almost spiritual reverence. I thought I could use that to introduce him to the artwork of these masters. Not such a good idea as it turns out, FYI.

Truthfully, this first day was a bit anticlimactic for me, too, except to say that I miss my little guy. He is growing up so fast!

“Mommy, don’t be sad. I want to grow up!”

Well, $@(/:^<^~%|€<$.

Each day is about letting go a little more, until one day they are gone. Poof! They no longer need you.

21 thoughts on “First Day Of School

  1. My daughter has always been so forward thinking and head strong, her days of truly needing me didn’t last long. I am a grandma now and she’s expecting a second. She is a lead in her career and keeps a great home so it hasn’t been all bad and now I get to be goofy grandma!

    Like

  2. One day my step daughter was sending us pictures of fertilized eggs in a petri dish. Those fertilized eggs are now 8 years old and amazing. How did this happen? In our case the granddaughters live across country and we only see them once a year but the change each year is amazing. We will see them in a couple of weeks. The are so grown up (in a young girl way), tall and thin and so very active. Each year they are so different. Yikes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

