The Drama Queen (Or At Least, The Drama Princess…)

IMG_4423.JPG

My daughter has a flair for the dramatic. I am not really sure where that comes from. *cough* Perhaps all little girls are this way? Over the top in everything they do? Certainly I never was. That I can remember…

Ask her to carry her dirty clothes to the laundry hamper and she throws herself on the floor, grabbing her leg while screaming, “I can’t! I can’t, mommy! I have a broken bone in my leg!!!” If I force the issue, she staggers and limps all the way there and all the way back, groaning in pseudo-agony, demanding surgical intervention.

If I happen to brush her arm with my hand while fastening her seatbelt, the world dissolves into sobs and tears. “Mommy!!!! You scratched me! I’m pretty sure I’m bleeding! I need a bandaid riiiiiiiiight now!” If I tell her there is no blood, the sobs crescendo until there really is blood. From my ears.

Dinner is a battlefield. Generally she chooses starvation rather than the green beans. If I force the issue, she glares at me as she shoves the veggie far into her throat, until retching turns into puke. Then she grins triumphantly, maintaining eye contact, as vomit gurgles down her chin as if to say: “There. Retaliation. Made you pay.”

Last night, she slept in a hand-me-down ballet tutu with sequins and satin and tule because it made her feel like a princess. I gave her a big, huge kiss on the forehead while she hugged my neck. As I left the room and closed the door, I could hear her say in her sing-song happy voice, “Mommy, please don’t let me get eaten by the dragon…”

She is lucky she is so dang cute. The cuteness will be what saves her from the dragon, not Mommy…

64 thoughts on “The Drama Queen (Or At Least, The Drama Princess…)

  1. I love children! They love me too because I never force any issue. I tell them incredible stories or act with them or show total respect. As a result they do what I want them to do. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Okay, this just emphasizes why I should be scared going into that parenthood phase, especially because that phase will never go away (yipes!). Once you go mom, you can never go back *shivers* That said, of course, that will be a challenge I’ll have to accept. Correction: challenges. Two instant rowdy sons, in fact πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a 7 year old daughter (she turned 7) and she also has a flair for drama. I can be washing dishes calmly in the sink, content in my own thoughts and she’ll burst in crying and shouting “Why are you so mad at me?!” maybe she means “Pay attention to me!!!”

    She used to make a huge deal about taking medicine even if she was very very ill she would use her stomach muscles to force herself to throw up the meds like projectile vomit (she actually had a 6 pack for a while). One day I sit down had a talk with her about meds and she has taken them ever since without a word of complaint I have absolutely no idea what I said! I finally say something that works and I have no idea what it is, it possible didn’t even make sense because after you wear out all the common sense logical options gibberish usually commences.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Totally cracking up at the puke part! I remember those days with my son. He’d eat something he didn’t want, sit there for a couple minutes, get that look in his eye and you knew it was coming up.

    Like

  5. “Ask her to carry her dirty clothes to the laundry hamper and she throws herself on the floor, grabbing her leg while screaming, β€œI can’t! I can’t, mommy! I have a broken bone in my leg!!!”

    I’m such a big kid, I would rush to her, grab a few items and tell her we will prep for surgery, right then and there. Lol.

    Children are truly the best. I am sure if she encountered the dragon, she would find a way suggesting why it serves the dragon better to keep her alive.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. When children eat no fast sugars, they tend to enjoy vegetables. more. Veggies are sweet. In summer, we would snack on still-frozen peas. Baby carrots were for snacking because they’re fun to eat. If you cook them to soft with sweetener and anything else–o.j., ginger, you name it–carrots are almost dessert. Yams are not just for Thansgiving if served baked soft with just butter.

    Or, with a fussy eater, you can do what they did in the old days to avoid all conflicts:
    “You don’t want your beans? Okay.”
    Then, next meal, guess what the only food was. And the meal after. One of our pastors and his wife raised multiple very happy birth and adopted children this way, even sending the most stubborn one off to school with a sack lunch having nothing in it but the offending item.

    Me, if they didn’ like it, they didn’t have to eat it, but had to retaste it in six months or whenever “because tastes change and grow up, and yours might have grown up by then”. But I think your veg shake is a great idea for “immature” tastes : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • My parents did what your pastor friend did. Awful memories. She does get enough veggies and fruit in, I make sure of that, but they do have the rule that they have to eat at least one bite of everything before they leave the table. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Ugh. So sorry for your childhood sufferings.

        For me, one bite of some foods would be almost as bad. The thought of the taste of some foods in my mouth ruins the thought of eating. For me, these are cooked spinach (I like it raw), cooked beets (same), liver (organ meats are linked to cancer anyhow), and lobster (I love crab). Oh, yes, and ranch dressing, which so many parent mags say kids love to dips raw veggies in. Gack.

        I think forcing frequent retasting of repulsive foods is…less than optimal for child-parent power dynamics (you’ve created a battleground and handed the child daily opportunities to say No),

        for life-long food relationships (if the child does say No, you are now forcing food. if the child says No to a new food, is it dislike, or a power move?)

        for helping the naturally-fussy eater learn to broaden tastes (digging in heels never led to opening minds. also, I think it is possible that forcing an offending item might extend its offensive influence to others in a wider and wider taste family; e.g. maybe I would no longer like crab, then scallops, then all seafood.

        Just one woman’s opinion.

        As a guest, I do not, and cannot, force myself to a small serving of everything. Thank goodness a good host doesn’t expect this.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

