Turtle Soup

IMG_4437.JPG

“So, young man, what do you want to be when you grow up? A doctor like your mommy?”

The elderly woman smiled down benevolently as my son smiled back up at her.

“No, ma’am! I want to be a turtle.” He was very matter of fact about it.

“Oh, well isn’t that sweet! Turtles are very cute.” Still smiling.

Cue the Ninja attack battle stance complete with threatening scowl.

“Ohhhhh…..” The smile faded away, replaced by a look of pity directed at me. She then turned and busied herself unloading her grocery cart onto the conveyor belt.

Clearly he was one of *those* kids.

If you only knew…

Damn you, Ninja Turtles!!!!!

60 thoughts on “Turtle Soup

  1. I know this feeling so well. Our oldest used to pretend to be Link from the Legend of Zelda. He would go down the aisle in the grocery store slaying imaginary enemies. He scared more than one elderly lady in the process I assure you.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. β€œNo, ma’am! I want to be a turtle.” So polite and so living fully in his world! Love it! Why do we ever let go of dreams like this? But now I am imagining your son at 40 in a mutant ninja outfit slaying invisible enemies in the supermarket aisle. LOL. πŸ™‚ Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. YES! That is Li’l D’s answer (half the time), too!

    (The other half of the time, he says he wants to be a detective.)

    Have you seen the show Blackish? The mom doctor tries enticing her youngest doctor to follow her footsteps in one episode. I’m giggling even remembering how it was handled. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • My son saw a total of two minutes of it in a hotel room in Philadelphia two years ago and has been OBSESSED ever since. The new version is pretty dark, so we finally last month allowed him to watch the old episodes from our childhood. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 3 people

  4. We were at soccer practice the other night. The assistant coach is ~20-24wks pregnant. My son asks her, “How come your tummy is getting fat?”
    She kinda laughs and says, “It’s because I have a baby in my tummy.”
    My son’s response, in complete seriousness: “Oh… Well, that’s a problem. Do you know what? My mommy takes babies out of other mommies tummies. Maybe if you go to her work she can help you out with this problem.”
    Me: Face Palm…

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (11-20-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

