About Steven

IMG_9769
“Aren’t you ready? Go on and jump, then!” Laughter from everyone.

People below looked so tiny way down there…

The fellow who held the rope attached to my harness was a friend. It was not that I didn’t trust him per se, as he did this sort of thing for a living. We just all pranked each other so dang much and well… It was a long way down. Ultimately, his hand on that rope was the only thing that stood between me and certain death. Flashbacks to the trauma service flew through my subconscious.

Mangled bodies. Me. Mangled bodies. Me. My mangled body.

The platform wiggled precariously beneath my feet.

Someone needs to fix this thing! Do you hear me?

It took a sudden surge of willpower to keep my legs from shaking. It was then that I realized that I would have better odds surviving a jump than I would surviving the climb back down that stupid pole.

I’ll be damned if I am gonna let this beat me!

Several other people had already gone first, including two little boys. They had made the jump and caught the bar suspended a few feet in front of the wobbly platform. Made it look easy, in fact. If I didn’t make it, I would be a laughing stock.

So I jumped.

And then…

I panicked.

For some reason I thought it would be much safer to catch the rope attached to my harness rather than the solid metal bar in front of me. Why? Who the hell knows. In a fraction of a second, the skin on a fair portion of several fingers had been burned off from the friction of the rope and now I was dangling fifty feet up in the air.

Bleeding.

My fingers were in so much pain I was unaware of the new abdominal hernia that had developed. In fact, it was not until weeks later that I fully realized what had happened.

Several years and two babies later, the thing had grown to the size of a giant grapefruit. I named him Steven. Someday, I will tell you about getting rid of Steven. For now, you will just have to use your imagination.

66 thoughts on “About Steven

  1. What doobster said – yikes! And I have jumped from great height without a rope . . . but I had a parachute! With just a rope, though – that’s just crazy πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hate heights. Actually I have panic attacks in high places so, no thanks to jumping from anything higher than a step stool. And oh god, I could feel the skin being ripped from your palms…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heavens. You couldn’t even get me on the bungee ride at the amusement park – you know, the ride where they strap you and two other people together in a prone position, and then just let the rope go? But at least, the rider doesn’t have to do anything except enjoy the swinging until, eventually, the harness is returned to its starting position and everyone is released. I can’t imagine ever doing what you did!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well you have guts, some of which apparently ended up protruding through you! lol YOUCH your fingers? How did they care them??

    I’ve rocked climbed and repelled. That’s about as dangerous as I’ll get..lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ouch! I’m curious though, what was this for? You were just jumping from one place to another? You said there was a bar you were supposed to catch? And then what? Am I just not getting it? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As an ex- gymnast I am intrigued by your adventurous spirit, but saddened about how it turned out. Call me weird, but I think the fact that you jumped is cool! Come on, admit it, there has to have been at least a few people that gave condolences about your hand and gut, but then went on to ask you excitedly to give them even more details!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, man! Why’d you scare me like that???? I was just thinking while I was reading that one of my main goal in life is to do a really extreme thing even just once in my life and that could be this….THEN you scare me in the next paragraphs!!!

    Nope, nope, not gonna jump! Changed my mind…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve been skydiving before…And it was a LOT tamer than this sounds! OUCHIE! At least you had a doctor handy. πŸ˜‰ Oh, wait, when you’re also the patient, that doesn’t count, does it? πŸ™‚

    Now about Steven, I have to ask… Did you draw faces on him to figure out his personality before you named him? πŸ˜‰

    Seriously, though, I’m glad you survived and that you’re okay now. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: The End of Steven | Behind the White Coat

  10. Pingback: My Article Read (12-4-2014) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

