But…

IMG_8042

We have been having issues with my son stealing toys from his school classroom. The following conversation occurred as his father was trying to teach him a moral lesson about not taking what belongs to others:

“Hey, buddy, you don’t steal toys from school.” Cue stern look from the paternal unit.

“But, dad, it was just a toy.”

“Let’s talk about it on a larger scale. What if someone stole my truck?”

Pondering.

“If I didn’t have my truck, I couldn’t have picked you up from school today, could I?”

“Noooo….”

More pondering. Then a smile.

“Then, daddy, you would have to walk home. That would take a really long time.”

“Yep.

Bigger smile.

“Hey. You would have to walk on the highway, wouldn’t you?”

“Yes…”

Even bigger smile.

“That would be dangerous. You would probably get hit by a car and die and that would make mommy a widow. Then she could get remarried.”

I am not sure there is hope for that boy. He sounds like he is planning something…

68 thoughts on “But…

  1. I was a horrible liar, thief, all around bad kid. I learned how to problem solve by keeping myself in trouble. My son did the usual amount of bad stuff and always got caught. In life you have to learn both, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My Article Read (12-6-2014) | My Daily Musing

  3. LOL! Sorry to laugh, but that’s so cute! When my son was six, he started pilfering in his sister’s and my rooms and would take things such as candy and gum. I took him to the police department and explained what was happening to them and they gave him a “tour” of a jail and told him how bad a life of stealing would be. It wasn’t until about a year ago (fourteen years after the fact) that he said to me, “Remember that time you took me for the cool field trip to the jail?” He had NO CLUE how angry I was with him for stealing! LOL! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. So are we thinking it’s a phase the youngster is passing through? I had a niece who became a bit of a kleptomaniac for a few months. She even got in trouble for it a couple times. Then it just seemed to stop. No real reason that I can remember. My wife and I looked after her and her sister quite a bit, so I was in a position to know.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

