From One Addict to Another…

IMG_4674
In the spirit of yesterday’s post:

“Why is it drug addicts and computer aficionados are both called users?” – Clifford Stoll

Why the hell am I even posting on Christmas Eve? I have a disease. No post tomorrow, I promise. Maybe.

All week in my house so far:

“Mommy, is today a school day?” Hopeful eyes looking up into mine.

“No, sweetie.” Huge grin.

Or:

“Mommy, do you have to be a doctor today?

“No, baby doll. Let’s bake some cookies!”

Cue smile a mile wide.

From both of us.

These questions get asked several times a day as reassurance. They are not used to mommy having some time off. They are not used to having time off themselves.

Sometimes I forget that my kids work just as hard as I do.

It has been divine to be able to putz around the house in my jammies for days, shunning my standard uniform of high heels and make-up. If that doesn’t put you in the holiday spirit, I don’t know what does!

Happy Holidays, one and all!

90 thoughts on “From One Addict to Another…

  1. Happy Holidays to you and your family πŸ™‚
    Christmas is just a regular day here (Japan) but you can hear caroling in some parts of Tokyo πŸ™‚
    It was a real pleasure to discover your wonderful site, and get to learn a little about you this year. Thanks for sharing your stories with us. May the new year continue to bring you much health, happiness and success.
    Best wishes,
    Takami

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Have a wonderful holiday with the munchkins. I’m at work, so it’s computer for me for a couple of hours and then — maybe — off!

    Have a warm cookie for me, too please. I didn’t bake any this year ;(

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I had to laugh at this! I don’t consider myself remotely hard-core, and yet, here I am, on WordPress today. . . For me, it’s a delaying mechanism, because I don’t want to go upstairs and sort out all those presents. I kind of wish I could go to the mall, but I know that’s folly. Tomorrow, though: that will be the acid test!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well, I can’t really fault you. I will likely be posting later today (I have one ready to go, but it depends on what happens in the next hour or two), and I definitely have Paul Curran’s special post for tomorrow. Which, of course, means that I will have to occasionally leave the holiday festivities to check the computer for views, likes and comments. Since the computer is in the living room, it’s going to be interesting …

    Merry Christmas or Happy Holidays (whichever you prefer) to you and yours. I kind of miss having young children at Christmas – they make it so extra special.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Happy Holidays! Although, I’m trying to curve away from all the sugariness. Don’t want to go into a Diabetic coma. I’m border line of being a Diabetic as of now. *averts eyes to the left and right quickly* *sneaks cookie from hot plate* One won’t hurt, right? ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  6. HAPPY HOLIDAYS! (ALL CAPS = SHOUTING!)
    As a partaker in MRI-experiences (I even dreamt in the tube last week) and hip X-rays, I am so pleased with my medical services and servers thanks to Medicare. Imagine: the doctor told me on Tuesday to schedule an MRI. And I was in utero-tube on Thursday. NEVER this way in the UK! But I am disappointed in AARP-United Healthcare that raised my Ambien from $8 to $40 next year–that’s Zopidem in common parlance. I just don’t get it. Oh, the Grinch-Bah, Humbug! Letter arrived yesterday telling me my monthly goes from $92 to $152. EEEK! What a Christmas card that was. Anyhow, I shall continue to read and enjoy your postings. Keep on Writin’!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much for reading! It is probably not AARP’s fault on the zolpidem. All sorts of generic prices are getting jacked up thanks to pharmaceutical industry shenanigans. Bastards. Merry Christmas to you!!!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Well I am actually in my pyjamas because it’s 5am Christmas Day here in Australia! Merry Christmas! I must be hard core too because here I am scrolling through WP on my iPhone before the rest of the house wakes up πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Pingback: My Article Read (12-23-2014) (12-24-2014) | My Daily Musing

  9. I want to wish you a happy, and blessed Christmas celebration with the family. I genuinely bid you a wonderful day with the kids. I usually schedule my post either days, and sometimes drafted up to months in advance. Two were released this morning and yet, they were not reviewed for grammar or completed. LoL. I specifically checked schedules last night for the most recently scheduled posts, and those two were definitely not scheduled for today–especially at the same time. HaHa. Nonetheless, please have a wonderful day roaming around in your pajamas and baking cookies.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. BTW, much of the online vocabulary comes from the contrast between “passive” viewers (TV, Movies) or readers, and online “actors” (bloggers, posters, etc.). Lately the term “participants” has begun to replace “users”. So you needn’t feel like an addict πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

