Looking Back

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/879/64799087/files/2014/12/img_4899-0.jpg
Hey, you!

Yes.

YOU.

Some of you are starting to feel your hangovers from your celebrations last night. (Sorry, I haven't got any great medical advice for mitigating your misery.) Some of you are readying your champagne glasses for toasts tonight. (Take heed of the sufferings of our friends in other time zones and use moderation, please!)

As we are looking forward to another new year I wanted to say thank you to everyone.

All of you.

Another blogger, Gennie of the Gentle Giraffe, reminded me of my very first blog post here the other day. Just Why. I remember sitting down to write it, overflowing with angst and frustration and not really having anywhere to take it. I was going to explode if I did not have an outlet.

Blogging saved me.

I told myself that I didn’t care if anyone else cared, if anyone else was listening. I just needed to write, to get it out.

But, truth be told, I do care. I care an awful lot. So thank you.

Thank you for listening.

101 thoughts on “Looking Back

  1. I really love reading your blog. Managing a medical office and doing insurance billing can be frustrating. I feel like there is someone out there who understands. Where are you, by the way?

    Like

  2. All bloggers care if anyone is paying attention, even if they swear they don’t. I’m impressed by the readership you’ve gained (deservedly so).

    Happy New Year to you and yours. I’m confident that with you are their doctor, many of your patients will also have a happy new year.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m a new follower of your blog, and a new blogger myself. I agree that it feels good to write, and also to know that people are reading. The part I struggle with is my commitment to honesty, especially with a personal experience blog about starting over and moving my family to Canada’s Northwest Territories. I’ve been grateful for the support so far, even if only by friends and family lol

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for having such a wonderful blog, and then for mentioning me here, too! I look forward to your daily posts every morning! Looking forward to another year of blogging, alongside you and other great people, and with hopefully better “events” for me to blog about! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy New Year! Looking forward to more of what you write. πŸ™‚ I agree blogging is quite freeing. You never know what will appear with each post at the computer. We sometimes surprise ourselves in a good way. Here’s to more surprises.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doc, I just got carpal tunnel from scrolling through all of the comments. πŸ™‚
    I think that’s a pretty good indication of how much folks are glad you decided to vent here in the Blogosphere.
    Looking forward to your next year’s posts.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I just LOVE reading your work and I am so thrilled that you have come into my Life. I didn’t see you over at Petals, so I came over here to wish you a Happy New Year. May all the very best of 2015 come your way! You really deserve so much and then even more!!! Blogging like with you, has saved me in so many ways, and yes I DO care too. I put my Heart into my work, and in everything I do. See you around, Doc. It is an honor to call you friend. I don’t drink so hence I will be without a hangover. (smile) Lucky me. (((HUGS))) Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well, it’s a good thing you didn’t just explode! That would have been quite messy! Besides, we wouldn’t get to enjoy your quips and rants and live vicariously through your awesomeness! I wish you a happy, healthy, and prosperous 2015, my friend! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I enjoy reading your blog. It’s real. Sometimes it’s heartbreaking and often it’s funny. Thanks for sharing your wisdom, experience and humor. I just realized that your blog is also healing. Your blog is good medicine!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Happy New Year! No champagne here. With kids in tow, our days of going into Sydney to watch the fireworks in person have gone on hold. We were watching them on TV at a friend’s house…which went on the blink for 9pm.but fortunately after some CPR by my husband, it revived for midnight. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m behind in congratulating you about being Freshly Pressed, as was my honor 1.5 years ago. It does humble one being chosen out of so many bloggers. I’m still flabbergasted by the amount of followers I’ve garnered (all while having really poor Internet access as I travel in my RV). You on the other hand, will continue to soar toward greatness because you take the time to answer comments and your blog is beautifully written (not necessarily in that order πŸ™‚ ) Do keep up the good work and the down-to-earthiness that you write about so easily. I really enjoy each post even if I don’t comment (it’s the Internet thing).

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Blogging allows us to get therapy and BE therapists. Ain’t life grand?

    I look forward to your postings; you are fun, funny and smart — a great combination. And I’m impressed by the following you’ve built up in less than a year. Well done, VD!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Well I am very glad that you decided to blog. It has been a real pleasure every time I’ve visited your site, and I know even before I get here that you going to be talking about something interesting. So have a really wonderful 2015, and we’ll read you later.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: My Article Read (12-31-2014) (1-1-2015) (1-2-2015 | My Daily Musing

  15. I enjoy reading your posts. I guess the urge to ‘let out’ in order to maintain sanity is about enough to blog, and when we get others, strangers we may never meet liking or sharing their views on the same subject – that is our very own rewards!

    Thank you for sharing your life, I have learnt a great deal and all the very best for 2015 and beyond.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

