Would You Do It All Over Again?

IMG_9004
Yes.

Yes, I would.

Becoming a physician has opened up doors for me to whole new worlds that I only dreamed of. It took my narrow minded, judgmental, right-winged, goody-two-shoes self and taught me the beauty of a life that is full of grays and uncertainties.

It showed me that people are rarely who they appear to be on the surface of things… including my own self.

But there have been plenty of days that I have wanted to quit, to just simply walk away from it all.

Obviously, I didn’t.

If it was so damn hard, why didn’t you just quit?

My father was one of those doomsday prepers. Not to the point that we had a fallout shelter in the back yard but he had made… certain preparations in case of a catastrophic event.

Like a Russian invasion.

We are all products of our pasts. While I do not live in constant fear (I hear Borscht can be quite tasty when done right) in the back of my mind I always think about the fall of the world’s great civilizations. Someday, that will be us. The horrific brutality that seems so far away in this world will be right here on our doorstep. Will it be in my lifetime? Dunno.

What skills do I need in order to survive the worst case scenario?

Say a zombie apocalypse, perhaps?

In the event of a collapse of our society, who do you want to be friends with? Someone who can hunt (I can shoot but I have never killed anything in my life) and someone who can heal. Medical knowledge can be bartered for all sorts of things.

So, here’s to survival!

94 thoughts on “Would You Do It All Over Again?

  1. For my own selfish reading pleasure, I’m glad you stuck to it. I doubt this would be as interesting a blog if it was the day-to-day struggles of your average CPA. (No offense to CPA’s, who are quite lovely and useful as well.) I’m sure your patients are glad. I’m sure your insurance carrier is glad. :p

    Heck Yeah! Need an MD for the Zombie Pocolypse! A redneck with a bow. Several guys who can shoot and whack things. MacGuyver. A farmer… I’ve thought about this. It’s important.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve got a great 2nd hand story on that. A friend’s grandfather was the local doctor up in a small town in Canada. It was the days when it wasn’t unusual to get goods instead of money. They were Jewish & his wife was more into it than he was and kept a kosher house. The doctor got paid with a ham one day. Well, he sat on the front porch and downed as much as that ham as he could without bringing it inside. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Someday it will be us, but I don’t see a “Fall of the Roman Empire” violent end for us (unless the zombie apocalypse occurs). More like an economic apocalypse engineered by out-of-control bankers aided by our “representatives” in Washington. We’ll wake up one morning to find that everything we hold dear now belongs to someone else.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I make a great cup of tea, will that add to my value post-catastrophe? Seriously though, I used to feel like your dad. I wanted to build a fall out shelter in the garden in the eighties when my kids were small. We might have escaped the radiation but hey, I live in Ireland. We’d have drowned for sure.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. No way, Victo! it’s not fear that keeps you going. You found a spot (profession) where you are good and helping people daily. It really does not matter if they thank you or not. You know your worth and you are proud of it. Is it very difficult to be a doctor? No doubts about it! But it is worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I was a pretty hardcore “prepper” for several years (like your dad, no bomb shelter or anything–although I’d probably have one if I could afford it since they’d make a pretty cool man cave!). But it was the concern over the unknown that helped shift my focus into a more positive direction. Frankly, I got tired of the “Doom and Gloom” scenarios and felt there had to be a better way to live.

    Call me naΓ―ve if you want, but I believe that mankind is “taking the High Road”. The “Powers That Were” (and their sock-puppet news media) will never let us see the good that’s occurring in the world, because as long as we’re distracted by materialism and live in fear, we’ll keep feeding their machines of separation and control. And, as long as we literally “buy into” that way of life, they’ll be able to cling to their power and wealth.

    The secret to a brighter future isn’t living in “survival” mode, so much as it is waking up and living in “spiritual” mode. That is, loving others, treating ourselves and others well, and being the change we wish to see in the world. As a species, we can (and will) evolve past our violent, selfish past. We’re capable of so much more, once we can rid ourselves of all these self-allowed limitations that bind us.

    Prepare for the worst if you must, but expect (not hope or pray for–but EXPECT) the best!

    Respectfully,

    Stargazer

    PS: And it’s wonderfully, expressive blogs like yours that will help mankind see the Truth and turn the corner to a much brighter future!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I’m glad you stuck with it, too, VD.

    It just occurred to me that several years ago (8 or 9) I prepared an emergency survival kit. A bin full of canned food, etc. We had just lived through about 8 days without power after a hurricane. Of course, should anything really bad happen, we will be poisoned by the bacteria in our canned goods. We’ll need your medical help!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Haha, ironically, there’s pragmatism to be found in such an unconventional prophecy. I chose science because I thought there’s a long future ahead, the purpose of life is unknown, so might as well spend my days learning.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I was born for a zombie apocolypse. Hell, my acestors survived the potato famine, the coffin ships that came over from Ireland, and I personally survived H1N1 (that bitch tried to kill but I eventually sent it packing). My poor wife, though, insists I kill her the moment a collapse happens but I’m like “shit no, I’m putting you in a shopping cart lined with blankets and have you armed with a shotgun, like a human turret, and I’ll wheel you from shelter to shelter.”

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I love a post that starts “would I become a doctor again” and ends in “zombie apocalypse.”

    Best asset in zombie apocalypse: partners who are slower than you. Well, those doctor skills might come in handy, too. At least you know you won’t be the first voted off the island if it comes to that πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Futurologists don’t have a good track record (remember those moving sidewalks). It was only a few years ago that everyone had swallowed the Peak Oil syndrome and now oil prices have tanked (excuse the pun). The more people that predict doomsday the less likely it is to happen because humans are not machines and they adapt to new perceptions of what they think is going to happen. Best not to take important personal decisions based solely on our feelings of what we think is going to happen at the macro-economic level.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. And someone who can make stuff, build stuff, create stuff out of what’s there. MacGyver kind of person. We’d all need one of them too. I guess we all kind of keep going to survive. You, however, had the foresight to be one of those people we’ll all want in our survival groups. You will be a hot commodity!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I have thought long and hard about what I would do in a zombie apocalypse. I figure every group needs expendables who are only good for screaming and gibbering and distracting all the zombies while everyone else gets away, right?

    Otherwise I can, um, look after any children while everyone else keeps us alive? Make tasty soup from foraged goods? Crochet blankets if we happen to come across a yarn shop? I dunno. I got nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. My grandmother is a full blooded German Jew. Came here in 1939 by sheer luck. She taught us to can, prepare, save and reuse everything. I coupon and stockpile now, it has come in handy when things have gotten tight! I’m so glad to be overly prepared.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sometimes it’s hard. But being precise in measurements is key. I’m currently writing a piece on dehydrator use and will be posting some stuff about canning later this year on my blog. Justablurb.wordpress.com. it it time consuming, I won’t lie. And home canned goodies don’t taste like store bought, there are some we have tried and don’t care for.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ah, yes. I definitely want to be your friend in he event of a zombie apocalypse. Because I’d be the schmuck they’d pass by and NOT kill, but they’d push me down and make me scrape my knees, and then the scrapes would get infected and I’d get MRSA, and while I’d by then be praying one of them would do me in, they’d continue to ignore me, meanwhile, my legs would rot off. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: My Article Read (1-18-2015) (1-19-2015) | My Daily Musing

  17. I used to have two doctors in the family, but they are gone. I’ve tried to talk one of the kids into becoming a doctor and no one wanted to. Now I’m working on the Grandkids. I was in the medical field for an eye blink, but was not temperamentally suited. I can make things, like clothing, and other handy things. Working together, we will survive.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

