Love In Ten Lines

IMG_5298

Love, a bitter pill 

Love tastes of swill

Love grows 

Love slows 

Love was mine

Love all the time

Love is drunk 

Would love to fuck 

Love’s kiss gone amiss… 

Tonight love sleeps alone.     

Now, lest you think I have gone off the deep end, I was challenged by Johnny Ojanpera to write a poem following certain rules… (Between us, I don’t think he tagged me because I possess any great literary prowess. It was probably retaliation for liking too many of his posts and he is laughing at me right now.)

Honestly, I started with something sappy. Then at 4:28 AM, I received a text that said, “Be bigger and harder for your lover….” among other *interesting* things. WTH? Let me suggest, to those that might believe otherwise, texting a woman in the wee hours of the morning, trying to sell male “enhancement” products is a bad, bad marketing strategy. 

This is particularly true if said woman is a physician who sleeps without putting her phone on vibrate because someone might need to reach me in an emergency. It is also especially true when that woman has kids who are wired because they have been subjected to the Daylight “Savings” time switch AND spring break in the same week. Lord help me.

So to cap off today’s post, let me leave you with a few quotes that spoke to me at 4AM: 

“What the world really needs is more love and less paper work.” – Pearl Bailey 

“Love does not begin and end the way we seem to think it does. Love is a battle, love is a war; love is a growing up.” – James A. Baldwin 

“Friendship often ends in love; but love in friendship – never.” – Charles Caleb Colton

57 thoughts on “Love In Ten Lines

  1. Wait! Wait! Stop All the Clocks (daylight and other); “I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.” But, “Love is not love/Which alters when it alteration finds…” So, If this be error and upon me proved/I never writ, nor man ever loved.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting poem Victo. Obviously romantic love you are addressing.

    Those performance enhancing messages can pop by at the oddest times. I was visiting my Mum a few Christmases ago and we were chatting one evening. She is in her 80’s but is still very vital. lives in her own apartment, exercises daily, etc. She is a lesbian who was not in a relationship at the time. Anyway, I had had a drink of whiskey when she decided to check her e-mail. She had an ad for a penis enlarger in her mailbox and she complained as she erased it and moved to the next message. I told her that whoever sent the message was a heck of a salesperson – trying to sell a penis enlarger to a lesbian. She was not amused.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My Article Read (3-11-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

