Vanilla Protein Drink

IMG_5925

“Hey, Doc! I brought you something special.” He hopped off the exam table and rummaged in a grocery sack that sat in the corner chair. When he moved, the scent of stale cigarettes and dental decay filled the room. He plopped a small cardboard carton on the counter beside me. “It’s a creamy, vanilla protein drink.” 

“Oh. Ok.” I wasn’t sure what to do with it. “Thank you?”

“Listen, baby. Drink it cold, OK?”

“You can’t call me that.” I had already warned him stop at his last visit.

“Why not, baby?”

“I am leaving if you don’t stop.”

“Fine, fine.”

He walked across the room and stood behind me, putting his hand on my low back.

“God, you look great.”

I moved toward the door. “Your blood pressure is awful and it is killing your kidneys.” 

“Look, I don’t really care if I die…”

“So why are you here, then?”

“To get a physical. But I don’t want you to save me.”

“Fine. Stay here. They will be in in a few minutes to draw your blood.” His hand was on my shoulder again. I shrugged it off.

“Thanks, baby!” He called as I closed the door behind me. My last vision was of him reclining with his arms crossed, grinning his semi- toothless grin.

I placed the sweaty carton of “vanilla protein drink” in the wastebasket at the nurses’ station. No way in hell was I putting my lips on that. Not ever.

129 thoughts on “Vanilla Protein Drink

  1. EWWWW. I’m sorry you were in such a horrible situation! Smart– tossing the drink for sure!
    I also wanted to let you know that my blog has changed. I lost all my content and followers during a transfer. If you would still like to follow me, my new blog address is: west517photos.wordpress.com
    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was kind of him to think of you and to make a gift. Perhaps the gift wasn’t appropriate but he tried. i know rich people who wouldn’t give you the value of that drink – and here he is as poor as they come and he wants to give something. I think he may be sweet on you Victo. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. At a certain point, does he still have the right to see you? If he acts like this every time, I would feel uncomfortable seeing him. You have a right to not work in a hostile work environment. Maybe you are tougher than me, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure it qualifies. Men can say and do all sorts of uncomfortable things but just because I don’t like it does not mean it is illegal. If he touched a boob or put his hand down my pants I could charge him with assault. Otherwise, I only have the ability to dismiss him from my practice.

      Liked by 1 person

      • In Aust the combination of touching and words spoken would definitely give you enough to threaten him with a charge. There is a very strong mood here about men assaulting men. And there are ads on TV that encourage men to intervene if they see something that they think might be uncalled for. We aren’t becoming a “Nanny State” but we are trying to catch up with a standard that we were a little bit ashamed of. -My opinion.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Then next time he has an appointment organise for your biggest bravest ugliest male colleague to walk in and tell him. Even the cleaner would do. Maybe even better if it was the cleaner.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It shouldn’t require a man saying “Stop”. Just as “No means No” with sex acts, so must “Stop mean Stop”. The real catchphrase perhaps should be something like “She should never have to say STOP twice.”

        Liked by 2 people

    • Metronidazole. It will react violently with his evening whiskey… πŸ˜‰ Not that I would ever really do that, though. (I find it interesting that I am compelled to add the disclaimer. Perhaps I feel guilty for even thinking about it…)

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Maybe this type of behavior is why he was missing some teeth? Good enough reason to get punched and lose the remaining ones anyway.

    God that made my skin crawl. Who the hell hits on their doctor?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The not wanting to be saved…. that is his right. There are a fair number of people who refuse treatment for one reason or another. But it does seem to accentuate the unpleasantness of the touchy-feely bit…

      Like

Leave a Reply

