Priorities 

IMG_9773

“Doc, I can look back on it now and see that the whole episode was such a blessing. I could not see or understand it at the time, no matter what you or anyone else said. I lost myself in it. But here on the other side I can look back on the person I was then and the person I am now and know it was for the best.”

I nodded, remembering my own eureka moments over the years. There was such joy when that realization finally hit. That was the point when you knew you were climbing out of the hole. I could see that joy on her own face.

She continued…

“As women, we work so hard pouring ourselves into our careers, you make it your identity, and when something comes along that shakes that very foundation, you realize what is important. You have to or you won’t survive.

“At the end of the day, for me, it is my family that is the key to my happiness. My kid hugging my neck and saying he loved me? I realized that nothing would ever change that no matter whatever else was going on outside.”

I could remember those months of blackness as she tried to claw her way out. 

“I was broken. Breaking isn’t all that bad, though. It broke open reserves of strength I didn’t know I had. On the other side I can look back and see this did not destroy me and know that I can survive it again if necessary.”

Exactly. And whenever I start to forget that, something always happens to bring me back… My own heart feels so raw, still.

She took a deep breath. “So, I said all of that to say that I think I am ready to get off of my medication.”

She smiled.

I gave her a big hug. “No doubt. Here is how you do it…”

49 thoughts on “Priorities 

  1. Amazing to have a front row seat for such an epiphany. Such a rare moment in human experience – to actually see it happen is inspirational. It must feel very fulfilling to be a part of such a moment Victo. No doubt one of the job benefits – in a job that is full of hard news and difficulty. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So true. One thing about getting older and a little wiser is that, somewhere in the back of my mind, I remember that things have a way of working out. It’s still very hard to be patient though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Are you sure you weren’t talking to me? I wish I could have been having that conversation with someone these days. But I guess as long as the realization is made, that’s what matters!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

