Going

 Steam Locomotive   

“Doc, we’re moving.” He looked crestfallen. Almost sad.

Try not to look happy, try not to look happy, try not to look happy….

“Oh, we are going to miss you terribly around here! But I bet it is going to be a great opportunity.”

He perked up. “Yes! It is a promotion, more money.”

Every time he entered our clinic he was disruptive. Ugly to the staff. Over the top demanding. Flat out mean. For the life of me, I could not figure out why he kept coming back because at each visit he told me my staff was awful. He had been torturing us for over five years now.

“Say, Doc, do you know any doctor you could recommend there? Someone of your… caliber?” He looked hopeful.

In truth, I did know someone. I had been in residency with them. However, I liked them.

I scrunched up my face, pretending to think. Then I shook my head. “Nooooo. I cannot think of anyone you might like. So sorry.”

Quickly, I printed out his patient summary, his last labs, immunization record, and any important imaging he had had so he could take it with him to his new doctor. It always made my life easier when new patients brought these things. His new doctor was going to need all of the help they could get.

Maybe he would be nicer to them? I sincerely hoped so.

85 thoughts on “Going

  1. any idea what was fueling the meanness? Was he a rich, powerful business man used to pushing people around? I admire your professionalism. I’m working on it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Our 88-year-old next door neighbor does the concierge thing with her doctor. She pays somewhere around $2,000 a year (in addition to his regular fees) and is supposed to get extra attention in return—i.e., when she phones the office with a problem, they’re supposed to get back to her quicker than they normally would. From what I’ve heard from her about it, it sounds like the doctor is getting the better part of the deal. My doctor’s office returns calls pretty quickly, and if my doctor is away, they always have someone whom I can see who’s covering for her. Your thoughts on concierge practices?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Not being ones to visit our GP or dentist unless absolutely necessary, we always treated the staff with respect and humour. They got to know us and we never had any problems with getting emergency appointments as they always managed to squeeze us in somewhere. Other patients who we had witnessed being rude and aggressive for not getting their own way had to wait. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! Happy to see him go, no doubt. You know I agree with Cordelia’s Mom, it seems that the worst customers are often the most appreciative because no one else will put up with them. A lot of service providers will charge extra to a lousy customer to try and make hem go away – I called it the abuse premium. I know when we set rates for customers when I was in the tanker business, we always took into account the attitude and ease of collaboration. ha! It was funny Victo,we had a dispatcher who treated vendors with contempt. We had 25 tankers each with 30 wheels so 750 tires that had to be maintained. We used a tire shop just over one street and they gave us excellent service. Fred – our pugnacious dispatcher treated them with disdain as if they were servants. Anyway, one day I had a tire going low on my car, so I went there on the way home and they dismounted it, found the leak, fixed it and remounted it and refused to take my money, I didn’t mention this to anyone, and a few days later Fred.came into work furious. He had had a flat tire on his pick-up and they had charged him $125 for a service call to our yard to fix it. When he was done ranting, our administrator , Jenny, piped up and said;”Oh they were very nice to me. [she lived about 5 miles away]. They came to my house and fixed a flat tire on my car and only charged me $25 .I was so happy because that’s usually much more expensive,” Ha! Fred turned all red and started to sputter. He actually called them and they refused to change the price or comment. He stomped around the office for a week. I decided it was best not to tell him they had done my work for free. I have to confess it made me feel good. 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I thought the rest of the post was going to say “Oh we’re going to miss you…” and he replies, “oh, we’re only moving a couple of streets away. I’ll still be your patient!”

    Good riddance. Very tricky, dealing with such people.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know only too well what it’s like moving and trying to find a new, good doctor. I hope I not thought of as a problem ( just lots of health problems – sigh).
    I applaud your instinct and not passing this fellow off onto a good doctor who doesn’t deserve the pain ( neither did you!).

    Life is strange and we ca only do what we feel is right. Good one of 👼💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doctors don’t mind lots of health problems, generally, but sometimes it takes us a bit of time to learn enough about you to be helpful. It IS hard to find one that meshes with your needs and personality.

      Like

  6. Abusive patients are the worst. Rude patients are close to as bad. Noncompliant patients are so difficult. Medical Professionals are the bane of my existence. They are so complicated to treat. I lose all sense of confidence.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This post made me laugh out loud, because I thought I was the only one who did the happy dance (behind closed doors of course) when a ‘challenging’ client decides our service hasn’t been one iota of help. I happily refer them on and pray like crazy the next ‘sucker/victim’ has bucket loads of patience and a truck load of grace 🙂 Linda

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sometimes the people who tend to complain are the people who have yet to encounter worse situations. I certainly learnt my lesson that way numerous times. You survive and grow up.

    If people complain yet continue to come back it is their backwards compliment that you are not so impolite to tell them to “fuck off” and that says more about you than them.

    When the next physician tells your patient to find the door that patient will miss you again. Life goes on…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. When a former staff member who treated me horribly for years had discovered my original blog, she sent me a FB message: “I wish I would have known” (about my mental illness). I was furious then. Now, I laugh about it considering I am so much stronger than ever. That and, well, I was transferred from the building so when I do return to work it will be a fresh start. Wish our ‘system’ was like yours, however.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: My Article Read (6-7-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

