The Guest

IMG_0014

The headmaster was standing at the back of the room in his brown suit and brown tie, his arms crossed somberly across his chest. He was a serious man who never joked, never smiled.

I was nervous just looking at him.

It was my second grade class and it was the end of the school year. My teacher, Ms. White, held a sheaf of those wide ruled tan colored notebook papers stapled together in her hands, turning each page slowly as she read from the podium at the front of the class.

They were my papers.

It was my story.

I stole another glance around the room. My classmates watched her with rapt attention, eyes growing wider. They were there in the story, I could see it!

There were dwarves and a wizard and a cave filled with treasure and scary monsters that clung to the dark shadows. I knew the secret, though. It was going to end up with good winning out over evil. Just wait, I smiled to myself.

As she read the last words there was silence. More silence. My heart stood still as the seconds ticked by. Then… everyone clapped, even the somber, frightening man at the back of the class.

He smiled at me!

I had never been recognized by anyone as being good at anything to that point. My handwriting was always awful. I read aloud too fast. My clothes were old, worn hand-me-downs. Mathematics was still a mystery to me. I was quiet as a mouse, never speaking, always invisible.

And so from that day forward I wrote every chance I could get.

I will never win any literary award. I will never have a huge audience. But when I put pen to paper I find my voice. The magic weaves its way through my fingers, taking over…

Thus began my love affair with words.

This was a guest post I did at Kevin Morris’s blog yesterday. Please check him out!

91 thoughts on “The Guest

  1. That is awesome Victo. Grade 2? Wow. It is my experience (although I’ve never seen it written anywhere) that a strong imagination is a sign of a high intelligence. The other thing it seems to mean is an ability to visualize and create characters or scenarios totally in your head. I bet, in grade 2, you could “see’ those characters that you created as clearly as if they were real. and then have them interact in our head – and then write what you saw.

    I would further venture that as a doctor, you likewise can visualize body systems and parts and see how they interact with the particular issue of a patient in mind. I suspect it is a talent linked to intelligence that is used by the mind to create various scenarios and mix and match in order to best discover the reality. Or, in the case of architects or inventors – create a reality that can then be brought into existence.

    Neat story Victo – you were showing signs of your brilliance even in Grade 2. You could be whatever you chose – including a writer.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Aw, thanks! I doubt I would have developed much skill with writing if I had not been called out by teacher in such a dramatic way. I think often that we forget how a gesture so small can change a life. I shudder to think what my life would have been like without words.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. And you’re still writing wonderful words! Your story coincidentally comes the day after I had lunch with a 12 year old girl with a mop of unruly curly hair, who has ADHD and spends a lot of time to herself. She likes to write, and she read me parts of a story she was working on and it was fantastic – about angels and elves and dwarfs and such. I am hoping she’ll publish it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw Doc, you are a fabulous writer and I am glad someone had the ability to see and open your world of words to you…. it is your destiny. I truly mean that. Not sure where you find the time though. Don’t ever stop and don’t let anyone ever tell you that you are not a great story teller and writer. O want to say I knew you when… πŸ™‚
    I love your stories and posts. Thank you for your gift.

    Liked by 2 people

      • Not having read them all, I can’t speak to how many “better” writers there are on WordPress. All I know is what I enjoy reading. And I enjoy reading your blog because you share things that make us all remember that we’re all the same beneath our costumes. You wear a white coat and I wear a robe, and yet, through your words, we connect.

        Namaste

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Fantastic. It reminds me of when, in grade 9, my English teacher picked out a paper on Poe to read as an example of good writing. I’d just moved to East Texas but everyone in the class turned and looked at me at the end. Made me both proud and worried that I was already marked by my new classmates.

    But grade 2? How wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You will win literary awards. It took me 6 years to get the followers I have. You got the same amount in 15 months. Your writing is interesting, indepth, varied and a number of other adjectives. I’m glad you remember that moment, it led you to here.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hey Victo,

    I’d certainly agree with every comment made here…your writing is superb as to your wonderful perspective on life, and both it seems, shine as brightly as the quality of your personality and the strength of you character – attributes I find underpinning your work with an effortless ease, and which are perhaps equally as compelling to a reader as the words used to convey the message in the posting itself.

    I’d hazard a guess, and imagine subsequent to the classroom episode you may always have been just a little grateful to have had the dark figure looming at the back of the classroom at that precise moment in your life. After all, his presence was the gentle push needed to get a young fledgling out of the nest and airborne in life. Confidence and self belief are strengths a good teacher will always encourage their students to find within themselves, and to that end, in you writing (as I suspect in your career as well) you have certainly found a solid and very assured sense of both.

    Thank you for a great story delightfully told…I’ve come to expect nothing less from your pen πŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful week. Take care.

    Namaste

    DN – 29/06/2015

    Like

  7. It’s nice that they liked your writing. I like it too. But isn’t it also nice that you didn’t go so far at to try to make a living at it, but instead chose a much more lucrative profession? Isn’t it nice to have a roof over your head, and food on the table?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I was bad st school and bullied and the only thing I was good at was writing stories. It meant a lot to me that an English teacher praised my work in front of the class when I was 16! The whole class erupted in mocking jeers but I always remember that teacher’s encouragement to me. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Pingback: My Article Read (6-29-2015) | My Daily Musing

  10. Super! I admire your writing style and I do hope you write a book, reach masses and also win awards! I feel you would! πŸ™‚ btw do you still have that story? Would love to read it too!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love this so much!! Reminded me of a second-grader I worked with, as a college student a million years ago. On the first day of the writing workshop, it was pulling teeth to get her to add another sentence to her “story” — and she made darn sure the sentence she finally added would put an end to this whole “isn’t there anything else you’d like to say?” nonsense.

    Her first story, in its entirety: “I had a kitty. She died.”

    Many months later, for her final story of the workshop, she wrote a rollicking adventure about a little girl who entered a spooky mansion, where she found and cuddled an abandoned infant — only to discover the baby was actually a midget bankrobber, who had been hiding out in the old house to escape capture by the police. He jumped out of her arms, snatched up his pile of stolen jewels, and lept from the window, followed by our intrepid heroine. Page after page this masterpiece went on. I don’t remember exactly how the girl eventually captured the spry midget and saved the day — but I will always remember the look on the author’s face as she stood in front of her whole class and read it all aloud, more words in that one story than she had written the rest of the year combined…

    It was A Very Good Day. Thanks for helping me to remember it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

