Bantha Bowls

 Field of sunflowers against a blue sky. 

It exploded like a gunshot. I screamed, involuntarily. 

My kids screamed in response. 

We all screamed again a few more times for good measure.

I paused for a moment to survey the damage. Chocolate had sprayed everywhere. Chunks of it were in my hair. Bits of balloon shrapnel hung off of the kitchen cabinet and dotted the floor.

One Bantha Bowl had bit the dust. 

Fortunately, we still had six balloons left. Clearly I was going to have to be more careful with the temperature of the chocolate….

Interestingly no one asked me about the Bantha Bowls on my Bridge post. In case you are curious about how to do them, check out this book:

Ice Sabers: Thirty Chilled Treats Using the Force of Your Freezer (Star Wars Cookbook)

It involves coating a water balloon with a bit of oil, then dipping it in melted chocolate. Once the chocolate has cooled and hardened on a cookie sheet long enough, you pop the balloons… Tons of fun science to be had with this project!

Meanwhile, I am going to go back to scraping chocolate off of the ceiling. I am sure to be finding splatters of it in surprise places for the next decade. 

Maybe I can use the bits of toilet paper left after turning my son into a mummy the other day…

97 thoughts on “Bantha Bowls

  1. I saw that treat idea at some point and wondered how it would work. Glad I never tried it out.

    As for spraying the ceiling – my daughter had just moved into her new, first home. We had a family get-together. She didn’t know how to open a bottle of red wine (poor parenting on my part), so I offered to do it for her. I don’t even know how it happened – maybe the seal hadn’t been completely removed, maybe it wasn’t still wine, maybe I’m just inept – but as soon as the cork came out, the wine exploded up onto her newly painted white ceiling. I don’t think she ever got those stains out completely. We laugh about it at every family gathering at her house.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, hot chocolate and balloons…what’s not to like. I make chocolates every Christmas….tables full of them. I know what it is like to have chocolate to scrape off of stuff. It is not easy…. BUT…you’re a scientist…hot oil on cold rubber…hmmmmm….physics not your forte? 😉
    But I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I figured Bantha Bowls would be made of clay and sand, maybe filled with rock candy, Banthas being from a desert planet and all. Chocolate sounds like much more fun! Hey, I wonder if you could make storm trooper heads with marshmallows. A Chewbacca with shredded coconut? I need grand kids who live closer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: My Article Read (7-1-2015) | My Daily Musing

  5. Two thoughts… I think it’d be more scientifically appropriate for you to dip latex gloves next time. 😉 And making your son a mummy is always fun! (My son used to love when we made fake blood… and also homemade play dough.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

