Gates

IMG_8276

I did not sleep well at all last night. It started with a nightmare that my mother found my blog:

I was checking likes and there was a new one I did not recognize. I looked closer at the gravatar picture. It was HER!!!! My heart started pounding. I couldn’t breathe. Bing! There was a new email…

THAT woke me right on up. It felt so real. My inbox was empty, though. Whew! 

Then, I could not shut off my mind. Instead, I was ruminating for hours over a couple of challenging patients, clinic staffing issues, etc.

Coffee isn’t even gonna touch this.

Thank heaven it is only a half day today.

I sure wish I had a gate in my mind, that I close tight when I needed to. I wonder how some people do it. 

What keeps YOU awake at night? Would you mind if your mother found your blog?

177 thoughts on “Gates

  1. May I suggest dream analysis?? 😉 My parents are huge supporters of my blog, but aren’t savvy enough to remember & type my URL (“how do you spell ‘freud’ again?”), but i did succeed at teaching them to ‘like’ my instagram posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The gate in the mind is called compartmentalizing. Some people do it really well. Considering all you juggle in your own life, you’re not bad at it either…. About your mother reading your blog, if that’s a nightmare maybe you should rethink the hold her opinions still have on you?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mother knows about my blog and reads it occasionally. In all honesty I don’t think she understands much of what write! As what keeps me awak at night, it is my guide dog opening the bedroom door with his nose and sighing loudly as he plonks himself down at the side of my bed! Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wrote a play and a short film that were loosely based on my family and never invited them to attend presentations. THAT’S how much I didn’t want them to know about it. *shudder*

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (7-25-2015) | My Daily Musing

  6. I only lose sleep thinking about getting a drivers license in Russia, then driving with all the crazy drivers here. It would just be my luck they would make a video of my driving super slow and it would get posted to the internet, oh I’d definitely lose sleep then.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I only get 4-5 hours of sleep per night, so there isn’t much that could keep me awake. I’d only be upset that anyone found my blog if they wanted to judge me about it. I won’t judge folks for reading it, so I don’t want to be judged for writing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

