Mooned

moon craters

I have several posts that I am working on right now but nothing that was “ready” because I spent the past couple of nights playing with my telescope until the wee hours of the morning. I am in possession of the proper adapters to attach my Canon SLR to my late 1970’s Celestron C8 Schmidt-Cassegran telescope but never could get it to take a good picture. I will have to play around with it some more.

What you see above is taken with my iPhone 4 through the telescope. You just stick the phone’s camera lens right up onto the telescope eyepiece. Did you know you could DO that? Me either. God bless the internet! It may not be the absolute best photo of the moon I have ever seen but it is MINE.

I feel compelled to say a few words here about mosquitoes at night. I assume they were mosquitoes. I couldn’t actually see them. It was dark. Go figure. Whatever those blood sucking bastards were, they laugh in the face of DEET and managed to turn my legs into something that resembles the craters of the moon’s surface. I will NOT be wearing skirts to work this week. Sob.

Speaking of insects, I have been exceedingly frustrated with several of the new bugs in Word Press (such as not activating the like or share buttons for posts generated or updated from the phone app). I blog mobile. It is what I do. It is the only way I can do what I do. Unless this bug gets fixed I am not sure what the future holds for me as far as blogging is concerned.

So, I am going to try scheduling this post from my home computer. If you see it at noonish today, then WOOHOO! It worked. I generally don’t have good luck with this scheduling stuff so if you see it 6AM you can go ahead and laugh at me.ย  I deserve it.

126 thoughts on “Mooned

  1. I have neither a telescope nor a fancy camera, so I think your photo is amazing, and I’m showing it to The Mister and we are both like, “Wow.”
    And yes, I hope they were mosquitoes. *scratch scratch*

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I never thought I’d use it enough to invest money in a telescope. Now, with increasing light pollution across the country I wonder if it would make any less sense. I could see could see constellations from my window and wonder if any of those stares were already dead, only the last photons hadn’t reached us yet (I was an un-selfdiagnosed nerd); now I only see a luminous yellow glow obscure all…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well it was probably noonish your time.

    The Like button and accompanying pictures of bloggers faster than me worked on Firefox, but not on Safari where it said “Loading” and showed me the spinning pizza of death.

    Oh, and, nice picture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Safari worked for me just now but apparently when I schedule the email goes out with a synopsis and no picture whereas otherwise the picture and the whole article would go. Grrrrrr. It is going to take some more experimenting to see if I can get this working again the way I want it to work….

      Like

  4. Funny, mooned means something completely different where I come from. I blog using a different app on my iPad. After the IOS upgrade, it seems to be working fine… but fails to appear in my own timestream. I have to hit the edit button, do absolutely nothing, then tell it to update my post before it shows up in my personal timestream. I’m a bit concerned that there are other problems I’m not aware of.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome photo Victo. Are your kids old enough yet to understand the telescope? Odd that DEET wasn’t working last night. I wish you the best in healing from your bug attack. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • The kids LOVED it! They didn’t understand the concept of eclipse very well, though. What made the bites worse is that I was so excite about what was going with the moon I was not paying attention to why was going on at my legs until I got inside so I was not trying to fend them off!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have an old Meade scope that also has camera adapters. I didn’t even think about pulling them out last night, now I wish I would have. I didn’t know about the trick with the phone camera, though. I may have to try that out. My camera adapter shots never were as magnified as you get through the lens. BTW, I love Schmidt-Cassegrans. They were the scopes I trained on back in the day. โค

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We have a telescope, but it would never occur to me to put another camera up to the eyepiece to take a photo! It didn’t even occur to me to do that with the binoculars my husband was using last night – he could see the lunar eclipse just fine, but I couldn’t even get the darn things to focus properly. I am so technologically inept.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your post reminds me that, as a relatively young boy I lived next door to a Mr Layton who had an observatory from which he used to observe the heavens. I also remember reading “The Golden Book of Astronomy” in the school library. The work is, no doubt somewhat outdated given some 30 years or more have passed since I read it. As Eliot remarks in “The Love Song of J Alfred Prufrock”, “I grow old, I grow old. I shall wear my trousers rolled …”! Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  9. My WP Android app works fine. Maybe you should dump Apple! Then again that’s always my advice! ๐Ÿ™‚
    The photo is great and I know what you mean when you say “it’s MINE”. I got that feeling too and mine only looks like a red dot!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. An amazing photo…maybe the best I’ve seen this week of the moon. And, I too, have been having WP issues. Things don’t show up in the Reader, or they show up hours before or after I hit “Publish immediately”. Not sure what’s up there…I do not post mobile. Maybe they’re working on “improvements” ?? โ˜บ

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Very nice picture! I would never have guessed that was an iPhone pic! And, is that why there are so many post with no like/comment option!? That’s stupid! I guess that’s why I get no likes or comments anymore either ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES! All of a sudden they started showing up like that in my app reader. Maybe 1/3 to 1/2 of posts. But the Safari reader is an unreliable pain so I would read in my app and then like everything super fast in the Safari reader after. It is too much work, though. I was home with my sick daughter again today so I could stay on top of things but that won’t be the case tomorrow. Fingers crossed they fix it fast!

      Like

  12. A woman of many talents! Great moon shot. The mosquitoes here have been particularly vicious lately – I think because they know the jig is up, fall is here. They tend to swarm you if you venture out, and I think they eat DEET for lunch

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I should schedule my posts as well, I end up publishing as soon as I finish, and wondering why no one else is up reading at 1 or 2am??? Good luck fixing the bugs, I’d hate to miss out on reading your blogs!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! Looks like WP fixed the bug. Woohoo! What I usually do is hold onto the post as a draft and after I get finished with my last patient of the morning I will do another quick proof read and then hit publish. I had a run where scheduling was NOT working so I got a bit gun shy. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  14. With you on the bug, that’s been bugging me for months and stopped me using WP pretty much.
    Lovely shot. I remember back in about 1981 a friend had a telescope and I did something similar. I took the lens off my SLR and just held it over where the eyepiece was removed from the ‘scope and got a similarly surprisingly good result, again of the moon. Where that print is now I have no idea!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll have to go up into the loft and rummage around!
        Yes I forgot to mention also that my reader only shows a fraction of the posts of blogs I follow. When I remember I use the tablet as that runs on android and is much better sorted.
        It’s all part of the ‘benefit’ of Apple’s cleverness in making software that doesn’t work with other stuff’s OS so we have to buy Apple Everything. Ain’t playing that game! My next phone won’t be an iPhone.

        Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: My Article Read (9-30-2015) | My Daily Musing

  16. Great moon shot, Doc! I had no idea you could wedge the iPhone lens with the telescope like that. Wow. By the way, I love the camera on my iPhone 6, but moon shots surely are still not a strength. They say the lens is even better in the new generation just out … Of course they’ll improve it when mine is only one year old and I’m NOT going to spend on the next gen yet. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

