Polio

486There were more victims of polio than just those who were struck down with the disease…

I did not realize that today was World Polio Day until I saw Elyse’s post yesterday.

“Mommy!” my daughter wailed. Her voice carried through the clinic. “Why are you making me gets shots? I don’t want shots! Please, please don’t let her give me shots…” She looked at me as if I had betrayed her as tears poured down her four year old face. 

“Remember how grandpa has to use a wheelchair and crutches and leg braces because he had polio?”

She nodded, pausing her sobbing for a moment.

“This is so you don’t have to get sick like that.”

“Oh.” She wiped the tears from her face. There was a resigned sigh and a little hiccup. “Ok, mommy. I’ll be brave.”

And she was.

70 thoughts on “Polio

  1. Right on.
    I showed my kids photos of deadly childhood diseases etc. Ferreal.
    PS: I took Moo for her flu shot the first week of October and she complained that her arm hurt for days. We were like, “Moo, stop bein such a baby.”
    Sassy and I had ours on Thursday, and OUR ARMS STILL HURT! Why the flu shot so owie this year?!? lol We had to apologize to Moo!
    I don’t remember any of them being like this except Tetanus. My goodness, don’t anyone hug me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My brother contracted polio when he was little. It left him with one leg shorted than the other (not really, but it bent so it had that affect) and I had a adult girlfriend who had it as a child and was beginning to experience a reoccurrence which I guess happens. She needs canes to walk. It was a hideous disease.
    And I too agree the flu shot this year is much more painful. My arm hurt for four days…and I mean hurt…and I am no wuss having given myself biologics in the leg for 9 years .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mother had Polio when she was a infant. It was devastating to her family out on the prairies. They used a method of gentle massage and a vibrator to keep the muscles from atrophying. She was lucky to not only survive but to have no obvious disablilty from it. We owe Jonas Salk a great deal for saving us from the human misery of that disease.
    Leslie

    Liked by 2 people

  4. When I was a little kid in elementary school, there were several kids with braces on their legs. And, though I didn’t know it at the time, I learned from letters written by my grandma to my dad that one of my cousins nearly died of polio. She “recovered” but there was damage to her body that couldn’t be reversed and never went away. This is why “anti-vaccers” make my blood boil.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember those days and those log summers where every mother thought the disease was spread at the beach. Then came Jonas Salk who made his work available to the world. I wonder what a modern Pharma would charge for a dose? Regards from Florida.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I lived through those days as well. I grew up in the city in row houses where all of my family lived up, down and around each other. I remember the day we were told we couldn’t play with our cousin or go into his house – we were children ranging from 6 to 11 years old. He was the only boy. The doctor came to their house. We were then all quarantined until it was determined no one else had been infected. He lives today with the affects of that crazy summer in 1962. It came out of nowhere and through an entire neighborhood into chaos and fear. We were too little to realize the panic that had run through the parents of that small, tight neighborhood. Thank God for Jonas Salk ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post. I like how you explained why you wanted your daughter to get the vaccine to her. Even if it didn’t work then, and thankfully it did, you gave her a way to understand what the vaccine was actually for. I’m sure most of the time kids have no idea.
    I’m going to read Elyse’s post now.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My older sister had a very mild case of polio. I got the old style vaccine that left a big, round, bumpy scar on my upper arm. I haven’t thought of it in years but just looked, yep, it is still there. Am I hallucinating thinking there was a vaccine that was drops of liquid on a sugar cube?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: My Article Read (10-24-2015) | My Daily Musing

  10. In Nigeria, OPV is routinely administered to babies. There’s been talk of introducing the inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) into the routine immunization system. I have 2 friends on wheelchair and crutches respectively because of polio. Parts of northern Nigeria resisted the vaccine, because of rumours that the vaccines are contaminated… increasing the incidences of polio in that region. I hope this is old news now.

    I’m with you on prevention and I’m glad you educated your daughter. She’ll probably educate her friends too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I am old enough to remember the polio outbreak – I have a distant memory of iron lungs. If you travel as far flung as we do, then you should renew your polio vaccinations (still oral), especially for third world countries. My cousins remembered I had polio because there was mutterings of calipers after I was born but I just had a club foot which straightened naturally.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Learnt something new. Polio is so preventable that its spread makes no sense. Basic hygiene and clean food and water prevent a lot already.

    Then I remember that modern toilets, sewers, water purification and safe hygiene standards are not global standards. It makes you wonder why wars for oil and resources have to exist when illnesses can harm humanity worse than human greed and violence combined.

    We simply have to hope for the best…

    Liked by 1 person

  13. They just need to see why… My kids explained to me too that they wouldn’t mind to get sick with measles and so on but after I told them that they could pass it on to other kids who would not be as lucky they realized that getting a shot was not just only for their benefit but also for the benefit of other children who might not have the luxury of a good health system… And it was done. Of course they don’t like needles. Who does. But they see the reason behind it.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I well remember as a boy seeing what used to be healthy, fit kids suddenly struck down with polio. They’d be in hospital for ages then return to school in braces. A simple, little spoon of liquid soon put a big stop to that. It scares me when I read what some people go on about vaccines. They’re a generation or two away from knowing what whooping cough sounds like, when some poor kid at the end of the street coughs all through the night. Or how Rubella can make girls infertile, or how measles can give you brain damage. The list goes on. I’ve been getting the flu shot for the past 2 years now, only because I have emphysema (non smoker as well). My biggest surprise came when I read how a woman declared that she’d been vaccinated that day, by eating fresh berries. Sure, a great diet and a dynamic, healthy immune system can be a boon but some of these diseases are deadly.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Indeed. I remember as a child that the US was not as keen as the French on polio vaccination.
    Why? Because I do remember the US ambassador to the African country where we lived being struck by Polio. (He mostly recovered with lots of work at Bethesda). But what struck me then was that a grown-up, close friend of my parents (and their age) could catch a “child’s” disease.
    So yes. Vaccination.
    πŸ™‚
    (Reminds me your colleague of our daughter is already bugging us with the flu shots)
    😦

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I had polio as a child. Not bulbar, thank God. I was in bed for two months; our physician didn’t want me in the hospital because so many of my friends were in iron lungs there and he felt it would not be good for me to see that. Plus there was nothing anyone could do. It didn’t have any effect on my later participation in sports (I was a pretty good athlete), but now that I’m older I have some notable weakness in my legs and left arm – post polio syndrome, I believe. Terrible disease. I had been given one of the earliest vaccines in a trial, but I must have been in the control group. My brother, who was also in the trial, never got it, and he went to the same swim club where the outbreak occurred.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

