Lucille 

Black and white shadowed lace curtains.
Sitting on the couch late at night, as the smell of phenol sought escape from my pores, I slammed the Netter Atlas shut.

Done. I was done.

My brain could take no more. The exam the next day had already been passed or failed. Any further cramming I attempted to do was not likely to benefit.

Still, I knew sleep would not come.

I grabbed the television remote. The remote. It was a joke, really, as my apartment was so tiny I could sit on the couch and prop my feet up on the TV table on the opposite wall.

The screen flickered then glowed.

A voice spoke to me….

“Call the psychic network, now! Only $9.95 for five minutes. Plus $1.99 for each additional minute.”

I laughed to myself. All of those suckers out there…

But wait.

I could call. Find out how I would do tomorrow. Maybe then I could sleep. That wouldn’t take long. Five minutes, max. Well worth the money for some sleep.

The purse mocked me from the end of the worn pea green sofa. My credit card was nestled safely inside. The cordless phone was on the table by the TV. All within an easy reach.

Ah… What the hell.

A dial tone. Ringing. A click but no one answered.

“Hellooooo….. ?” I said tentatively.

“Hold please as I connect you to Madame Larkin.”

Pleasant hold music.

“Good evening.” The voice was airy, like she had been smoking something illegal. I cringed, embarrassed at myself. “What can I help you with?” 

Oh, well. My ten dollars was spent even if I hung up now. I decided to get my money’s worth. I sat my watch in front of me, keeping an eye on the time.

“Perhaps you can tell me?” I sniggered. Fatigue and stress make me snarky.

Silence.

More silence.

Damn it! The woman was trying to drag this out to maximize her charge. Just as I was about to hang up, her voice returned. This time it was commanding. “I see 4-5 people dressed in blue pajamas hovering around a young woman. Lots of cold metal. I see a blade. A knife perhaps? But she is already dead.”

What?!!!!

My cadaver, we named her Lucille, had been young. We wear blue scrubs. My heart was beating a bit faster as I realize that I was leaning forward in my seat.

“Do you say this to everybody?”

“No. The woman told me. By the way, she says her name is not Lucille.”

“What did you say?”

“Her name is not Lucille. It’s Amy.” She said it so matter of factly. “I see a lot of paintings…”

The medical school was in the arts district, surrounded by two world class art museums. Was she tracing my number? Doing a google search for my name? How would she know the name we gave the cadaver? My tank mates and I were the only ones who knew that!

“How did she die?” It was a detail she could not possible know. Hell, I didn’t even know.

Silence.

“Look, lady. How did she die?”

“Car accident.”

I hung up on her, relieved. Car accident was not possible. Lucille’s body did not have any visible trauma.

My eyelids felt heavy.

I slept with the lights on.

The next day, after the exam, I told a classmate about my exchange with the psychic, someone I could trust to not blab about the whole humiliating experience. She agreed the story was terribly strange, but her curiosity was piqued. It took quite a lot of cajoling to get me to agree to relate it all to someone who could vouch for the veracity of the “psychic”.

We found the head of the anatomy department, an old chubby fellow with a stringy comb over, and told him the story. He laughed it off, which made me feel quite a lot better.

The next day, as my team was standing around the huge silver tank, staring a Lucille, I realized I could not cut. It was my day, my turn in the rotation. I just couldn’t do it.

“Someone else is going to have to take the knife!” No one moved. “Please, people?” I begged.

In a few seconds the professor was standing at the door to the lab, trying to catch my eye. He motioned me into the hallway. He seemed genuinely excited.

“We don’t get names, only initials. So I cross referenced female bodies with the first initial ‘A’ and age between 20-40 who had trauma listed as cause of death. There is only one here, your cadaver.”

Oh, God. 

I am haunted. I will have a cadaver haunting me for the rest of my life now! I searched my memories, frantically making sure I had not done anything remotely disrespectful. Nothing. Except cut her!

Oh, God!

“Have you had this sort of thing happen before? What do I do?” I hoped for some sage bit of advice. He had been doing this for decades. Surely this was not the first ghost story he had come across.

Surely.

His unhelpful shrug did not help…

109 thoughts on “Lucille 

  1. You scared me there for a minute. I thought it was an actual experience that you had undergone, and only saw in the comments that it was a fictionalized version of something someone else had told you. Not that it couldn’t have happened, but I have an issue with the 800-Psychic being able to latch onto someone’s current circumstances. I can understand a face-to-face psychic doing that because he/she could pick up on body language, the customer’s attire and attitude, even smell. I’m sure you pick up on those subtle tells every day, I know I do. Either way, it’s a really good story for this time of year, and it did make the hair on the back of my neck stand up a bit.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Oh My! What a haunting story! I never actually though there was much to believe in those phone psychics!
    We never names our cadaver because some people in my group thought it was disrespectful. Our lady was old and her arms were bruised, likely from weeks of IV pokes. We were never able to figure out how she died, but I know she had a hysterectomy… and that was a little disappointing to me…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really liked your scary story – truth or fiction. I have (swear on my mother’s grave) a real hospital spooky story. Years ago I volunteered on a dementia ward in an old rural hospital in Scotland. They were a bit more relaxed about rules and there was a big cuddly black cat who lived in the unit. Without fail he slept on the bed of whichever patient was going to die that night. I think his instinct just told him to comfort the patients that he could sense were on their way out. It wasn’t difficult, even I could think “Don’t think you will be here next week…” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well, that was beautifully written but there’s no such thing as spirits or soothsayers or any of that stuff. They’re all flim-flam artists. Predators. I’m just a cynical, cold soul but those places should be outlawed. But not good writing. That should be encouraged. Not outlawed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Haunted Hospital: Stories From Residency | generallymedicine

  6. Pingback: My Article Read (12-5-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

