The Case Of Mistaken Identity

  
Some people believe that since I am a physician, I must have this parenting thing all figured out. I will admit that there are times when I let that fact go to my head, over estimating my own wisdom and the sway that I hold over my children.

Here’s the secret: Truthfully, kids don’t give a rip that someone calls you doctor.

Case in point…

I remembered enjoying the cartoon series Pinky and the Brain when I was in college. It was edgy, hysterically funny, witty, and best of all it was animated.

Talking to my kids about gene splicing and lab rats, I decided to show them a few clips of this show that I have not watched in almost twenty years (Am I really that damn old?). I have only a vague recollection of the subject matter. They always tried to take over the world, right? Fairly innocuous.

So I strolled through YouTube looking for a nice clip and found one featuring Brain running around a rainbow world with small children chasing after him. I play that one for them.

It is a fake ad touting the virtues of cigarettes.

The past two weeks my kids have at random moments announced that:

“Cigarettes are great!” 

At the grocery store. Church. With friends at school. At a restaurant.

Or:

“Mommy, I’m going smoke a cigarette, see?” I look over to see they have a bit of rolled up lettuce or paper hanging from their bottom lip.

“STOP SAYING THAT! Cigarettes are terrible for you. They kill people!!!!” I yell.

Two pairs of blue eyes stare back at me, puzzled. *blink* 

“Uh, mommy, Pinkie and the Brain like them…”

There it is. The truth. What kind of parent does this to their children, I ask you? This one. I did it. And I should have known better. I am not the mother you are looking for…

I was also wholly unprepared for the other reality, that their own mother, a doctor, holds no credibility in the face of a cartoon character. 

Thank you, Looney Tunes. Thank you for that lesson in humility.

102 thoughts on “The Case Of Mistaken Identity

  1. Sad, but true: you have no control over them, aside from the almost entirely harmful effects of being bigger and stronger and using that strength. Influence is the best you can hope for. Fortunately, that can be good enough.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Bwahaha! Kids are the great equalizer. ha! Pinky and the Brain is hilarious. I have always gotten a kick out of the relationships of children to professionals who we all respect – like doctors or lawyers or judges or presidents. Bill Clinton once said : “Being president is like running a cemetery: you’ve got a lot of people under you and nobody’s listening. ” And so it is for family.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Ahahhhaa! So funny, Doc – but don’t fret – it happens to the best of us. (And I like to think I was a pretty darned good one!) It’s kind of like recommending movies I watched years ago before I got sensible and decided that profanity and on-screen sex were NOT cool. I’m like – oh my goodness! I had NO idea Fabulous Baker Boys was so raunchy! …blushing effusively… It’s that danged rose coloured memory of ours, right?
    Note to self: Recommend nothing. At all.
    Ok, maybe Sesame Street… that’s still relevant, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m dying here!!! I feel for you.

    I watched Pinky and the Brain as a kid–loved it! I’ve recently watched some old cartoons with LM and noticed the smoking, booze, etc that you’d never see in a kid’s show today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hahaha! That was hilarious.

    My kids are currently posting youtube comments with mine and their father’s account. Every doll and play dough video they can find. We look like total creeps. Lol.
    Recommended for you : Elsa play dough dress up.

    I have passwords on all devices….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Haha!
    I get this differently, coming from the teaching standpoint. Yesterday Sassy damn near argued with me when I told her irregardless wasn’t a word. I told her, politely, to STFU and break down the word and if she couldn’t manage that, go Google it! Before I got done muttering about my English degree and tossing pasta violently, she retracted, “Oh crap. I’m sorry. I see. So sorry.” SOOOO, it’s getting better for the teacher inside me, at least.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s time for Animaniacs
    And we’re zany to the max
    so just sit back and relax
    you’ll laugh till you collapse
    we’re Animaniacs

    come join the Warner Brothers and the Warner sister Dot
    just for fun we run around the Warner movie lot
    they lock us in the tower whenever we get caught
    but we break loose and then vamoose and now you know the plot

    we’re Animaniacs
    Dot is cute and Yakko yacks
    Wacko packs away the snacks
    we pay stacks of income tax
    we’re Animaniacs

    meet Pinky and the Brain, who want to rule the universe
    the Feathers flock together, Slappy whacks ’em with her purse
    Buttons chases Mindy, while Rita sings a verse
    the writers flipped, we have no script, why bother to rehearse

    We’re Animaniacs
    we have pay or play contracts
    we’re zany to the max
    there’s boloney in our slacks
    we’re Animani- totally insaney- Animaniacs, those are the facts!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I own the Pinky and The Brain boxed set of DVDs. I bought them for myself. I shared them with the kids, but they had a hard time with Yoko Ono and some of the other characters who showed up. Don’t care. They are awesome, and all mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ummm. . I took my son to see Wolf of Wall Street. Christmas night. Right after we went to see Saving Mr. Banks…
    Needless to say… I was horrified- and too embarrassed to leave. So… I played down my discomfort. Imagine my surprise when my child had a surprisingly mature conversation with me about the movie.

    Our kids turn out okay. I think we just have to be willing to admit when we are wrong… And to have the hard conversation later.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Well we aren’t parents but for whatever reason this reminded me of the time a former pastor of ours was pressuring my hubby so hard on something in front of a whole group of people that he finally stood up told the pastor to F off and walked out.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haha! You’ve been had. Caught by your own – unwanted – trick.
    Remember: everything is always about power between human beings.
    And babies are masters in that. Else the species would not have survived.
    Your kids are just testing – and taunting – you.
    Breathe normally.
    Book the cabin in the woods again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

