Star Wars

San Antonio 021Thanksgiving leftovers have been laid to waste. 

Now, it is December. Time for the battle over the stars, or Star Wars, as I like to call it.

This is when those patients come out who get offended if I don’t say Merry Christmas, because rather than Happy Holidays being a sign of respect for the multitude of religious preferences that I see, it is for them anti-Christian and thereby offensive. That by itself is exhausting.

I used to feel like a whole month was an eternity, more than enough time to shop and decorate and party. No more. Now I know it will dash by in a flash. 

And I feel wholly unprepared. 

There have been meetings about how much to bonus the staff, meetings about what kind of clinic Christmas party to have in excruciating detail (Someone else please decide all of that so I can just show up, please!), decorations for the inside of the house, decorations for the outside of the house, decorations for the clinic, community tree lighting ceremonies, dance recitals, school Christmas programs, and that does not even cover the battle of shopping…

Invariably, I will be left at the last minute scrambling for gifts for everyone and I will end up resenting that a holiday can make me feel so damn inadequate. 

I was going to compile a bunch of family recipes and anecdotes into a book and give them as a gift to my niece. I was informed that was a bad idea, that she wants only money or gift cards. Now I feel like giving her socks.

Why can’t I just focus on making a good holiday for my kids? Why do I have to spread cheer to everyone else, too? And why do people have to be offended when I don’t share the “right” kind of cheer? Who are you to dictate, anyway?!??!?

The inner Vader is already wanting to crawl out…

I try to tell myself that this is about spreading love and joy to a hurting world, that it is not about me. That only helps a tiny bit. It feels as if I am being robbed of time and money and that sucks my own joy. What will I do about it? Nothing. Absolutely nothing. I will keep my mouth shut and smile when appropriate and make sure everyone has a gift so no one’s feelings get hurt. I don’t want to get labelled the evil bitch, you know.

So there you go. 

Happy Holidays! πŸ™‚

100 thoughts on “Star Wars

  1. Sigh. Christmas used to be so simple. I want to disappear to a deserted island in the middle of no where with no wifi, no electricity and no people. That’s what I want for Christmas. oh, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If you want to really piss people off, just say Happy Solstice. That gets them every time. Because honestly, that’s where it all started anyway, yes….even before Christ. πŸ˜‰ And we pagans always get left out.

    My holiday gift to myself…being ok with being an evil bitch. Oh, and it’s also my New Years resolution.

    Join me on e Dark Side….

    Liked by 9 people

  3. I say Merry Christmas, but I don’t care what people say to me as long as it’s not bah humbug! I hope you have a great holiday season – we are without family this year (the kids are on opposite sides of the world) so it will be quiet.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bah humbug.

    Bah humbug, I say!

    Just give that niece old socks (you know, “holy” socks) and wish her a Happy Festivus.

    Not to put a damper on your crankiness, but I personally am looking forward to Christmas this year, now that my house is presentable again. I do miss having little kids around on Christmas morning, however – at least you have that.

    Hope you have a very Delightful December and a happy Judicious January.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s all pretty exhausting, Doc. I used to wish I could just wake up in mid January. It does get easier, and one day, it will be pretty quiet and you might just miss all the fuss. (Still waiting for that to happen for me ?) ❀️

    Liked by 3 people

  6. If we all hate this so much, why do we do it? Resentful of the holiday, resentful of the family members who won’t even return an email with some clue of ideas for my grandchildren, even when I’ve narrowed the list to BOOKS and grandma-made pillowcases. How hard is it to email back, if ONLY to say, gee, I don’t know and I’m probably not going to have time to think about it in your time frame…?

    As to greetings, one option is to wait until they greet you in their preferred way and then smile sweetly and wish “the same to you!” OR you could just roll your eyes and mutter “whatever!” under your breath.

    We will have to do our best mindful practices to get through this, eh? I’m rootin’ for ya!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Tis the season to be grumpy and resentful. As if I don’t have feelings of inadequacy the rest of the year, Christmas seems to put an exclamation mark on it.

    Thank you for this post. Thank you for putting in writing – so eloquently – what so many of us feel.
    … and yes, like you, I will just grin and bear it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I understand everything you wrote and those same feelings/sentiments are shared by so many. Yet they/you still go through the motions. πŸ™‚
    Then I think about those that won’t have parties to go to. Don’t have family to buy gifts for or have family that ignore them. Older folks who no longer are able to decorate and cook a traditional dinner sometimes just because they are too tired to go through the motions. Not just thinking about the poor or underprivileged. Just people who dread December for a bunch of other reasons.
    Sometimes we (did I say me? LOL ) spend December in WP and have Happy Holidays here. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I am sick of the humbug and the vast distances people travel just to keep other people happy. And as for offending people if you say Happy Christmas. Well ………………..!!
    Anyway Happy Christmas from Australia and thanks for all the posts and comments. It’s been a good year – blogwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store? What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.” (Dr. Seuss) I felt like sharing this. Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas and Happy Solstice!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I love the season. Although I lean very strongly to the Goddess side of Pantheism, and I got married on the winter solstice, I love the Christmas spirit. Unfortunately, I think that is gone and replaced with Merry Greed month. I love to give gifts, but as the families I am involved with have changed, and so has my gift giving practice….. should I say; I don’t give practice…. none. I do not give anything to anyone except my brother and his wife, my husband and now my step daughter. The other six siblings and their families get nada. The idea of gift giving at work used to tweak me out, so now I give only to two of my most supportive reports, in private…. And only them because I really do appreciate them. Otherwise, it would be close to 17 people in my department alone. Instead we all go out to dinner and we use the employee incentive awards we have in our budget for our direct reports to pay for dinner. Works out. As far as wishing people anything, I usually say have a blessed holiday if I do not know their preference. The blessed word makes the religious ones happy… if I know they are Christian, I will say Merry Christmas to them. People will wish my Merry Yule if they really know me, but that is very under cover at work which is highly Christian. You want to see discrimination, be Pagan in a Christian bias organization. I had a painting of one Rune on a poster board and I had it up high up on a shelf, cast over my office cubby wall at the time. I had to take it down because it was upsetting to some who could see it, (which was everyone on the floor). The Rune was the word LOVE….

    Liked by 1 person

  12. So let’s take back the holy days and make them holy, in any way that works for you, including naps. I don’t give many material gifts anymore, but when I do, I like to give useful things, the kind I like to get, like candles, or calendars, or socks. Everybody needs socks!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ugh! That sounds exhausting. You can’t make everybody happy, just be yourself and make your own traditions. If I was your niece I would prefer the family cookbook over cards, but I don’t know your niece so I can’t speak for her. It took me a long time to find my Christmas groove and basically if you’re not a kid…..you’re getting a handmade present. My cousins from up North never even said thank you for their wreaths last year and it didn’t stop me from making them cork letters this year. I gave up on trying to make everyone happy and I just focus on the kids because in the end they are the only ones that matter….

    Liked by 1 person

  14. A book with so many memories would make such a great gift. She is really going to miss out on something so beautiful. I always like to give and receive gifts that have a thought put into them. A hand written note is much much more worth than some expensive item off the shelf. Happy Holidays to you and your family,ma’am!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Christmas makes me grumpy too. I’ve tried to simplify over the years and only do what I can do. This year my husband, son, daughter and her boyfriend are just going to exchange names. Everyone else can bite me. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I have been saying “Happy Holidays” for so long that it rolls off my tongue easily…but if people get offended by me saying that, I give them a “Merry ThanksGivoWeen” and a “Happy HannuKwaanzaMaSolstice.” That tends to shut them up, LOL!
    πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: Sharing Some Love! | Random Ramblings; Myriad Musings

  18. My inner Vader is firmly in control at this time of year. I just do what I have to do, head down, struggle on and then breathe a sigh of relief when it’s all over. We have to travel, miles and I hate it and just to make it really great my leg has gone sceptic. So hey, I feel your pain.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Hey, Happy Holidays is fine. What if your patient is jewish? Are you supposed to say Happy Hanukah?
    Or just not Christian? What about Happy Santa Claus? (That was yesterday I think)
    Or say it in French. Joyeux NoΓ«l?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

