Another Post

IMG_8303

This morning I saw three patients, ran to my kids’ school Christmas program for an hour and a half, then ran back to the clinic and saw more patients. 

At the time this gets posted I will be having lunch with the office staff for our Christmas party: exchanging gag gifts and eating some terribly unhealthy, yet super tasty, fast food salads. You see, salad is a ranch dressing delivery system in the South (United States)…. And being a doctor’s office, we like to at least pretend we are healthy, even at Christmas.

I got off topic. Sorry.

To be honest, I felt terribly guilty about taking time off for my kids’ school program. I wrestled with it for a couple of weeks when I learned of the change in time (it was supposed to have been last night). This time of year the clinic is crazy busy and those slots were already booked weeks in advance. I HATE making patients reschedule…

Sometimes I *think* I am a better person than I really am, though. I told myself it was all about the patients. That IS true to a large extent….

AND YET, while I love and adore my kids, probably to a fault, I realized last night that I would NOT feel as guilty playing hookie to go see Star Wars *if* I had tickets for today. I am not saying that I would have no guilt. Just less guilt. I don’t have tickets but if I DID I would probably even have ditched the school program for it. You can judge me if you want, but those school programs are beatings and, well, Han Solo is still awfully darn sexy.

83 thoughts on “Another Post

  1. You’re a terrific mom! I recall slipping in for the final minutes of my kids plays, ball games and programs and horse shows, just so they’d think I had been there. It’s tough being a working mom, but you’re doing a swell job πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my favorite quotes and I do not know who said it… you must put the oil in your lamp first in order to shine brightly for others. We as women carry so much NEEDLESS guilt.I bet if you knew someone else who did go to the movie instead of their kids thing, you would say. “Dang, how brave of her.”

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Guilt is only useful if it makes something change for the “better.” My daughter has 5 kids and she feels guilty about EVERYTHING. The worst for her, though, is that she cannot literally be in multiple places at once. It is crushing for her. And useless. [sigh…]

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You do what you can. It’s important to be dedicated, but you are entitled to a life too. You’ll probably never say, “I wish I had seen one more patient,” after you retire some day. You may regret missing something with your family though.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I can hear your patients grumbling from here. Really. How DARE a doctor reschedule their appointments for a couple of snot-nosed brats. That ingrown toenail is much, much more important than your children’s memories of your attendance at their special recitals. Those kids are only going to grow up anyway, and that toenail could turn into a real problem – and no one wants to have to go to one of those urgent care places because their own doctor loves her kids more than her very demanding patients.

    But kids’ programs vs. Star Wars? That’s a tough one. Fortunately the school programs were scheduled during the day, and there’s probably an evening or weekend showing of Star Wars – so you can do both! Imagine that! And no need for guilt.

    PS: We all know that had an emergency arisen with one of your patients while attending the school functions (or while attending Star Wars, heaven forbid), you would turn back into Super Doc. Enjoy whatever me time and mommy time you can get.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. As much as I love my son and loved most of his activities when he was a kid, those school “programs” are torture. Pure torture. Ya gotta do it, but you don’t have to like it.

    But you would have given yourself away if you’d gone to the movie. And then they’d need another year of therapy.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I once went to a Christmas band concert for beginning band students. It was called “The Concert Only a Mother Could Love”. That says it all…but we do it anyway. The problem is now with everyone sporting a smart phone, those clips end up on social media ! πŸŽ„

    Liked by 2 people

  8. You made the right choice and you had a full day! Husband and middle-aged son have tickets to see Star Wars Sunday afternoon. They saw the first one together years ago so it will really be fun for them to see it again together. Enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh yes, looking forward to Star Wars πŸ˜‰ It’s a big thing here too.
    Sorry for my lack of comments, it’s a busy time, but I’ve been enjoying your thought-provoking posts as always. Wishing you and your family a very happy and safe holiday season. You deserve the best! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You made the right choice Doctor. Your children give the gift of memories, your patients will not. Your children will also remember forever that you were there for them. Your patients will, move, change doctors, die off etc. My children remember every single concert, play, parent teacher, art show, field day, hockey game, gymnastics class, ballet, tap, and horse back riding class and show we went to. It was not easy, we both worked, neither of us were doctors, but jobs none the less. We often have some great laughs about some of those events at family gatherings. They are all married with children now and have high power jobs, but they make sure they show up at every event. They told me the reason was we were always there for them and they will be there for their children. That statement made all the craziness worth it. You are a great mom and they will never forget that.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. When my kids were young, I slipped easily into Ms. Responsible, trying to keep everybody happy which made me crazy sometimes. If I had it to do over again, I’d spend more time with family. But hindsight is generally 20/20. Take time for you and your kids and have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Every year my grandkids’ school has a Grandparents Day the day before school lets out for the holidays, where we get to observe them in their classes. In the past, we used to have to listen to a talk by the principal about the school’s philosophy (it’s a private school) and then go on to the classes. This year we did the classroom visit first. We were supposed to meet up afterward for the “the talk” but I ducked out so I could go to Zumba. This would have been around the 10th time I’d heard his spiel. That evening I also went to the kids’ Christmas concert and darned if they didn’t say “You left!” Busted. Do what you can and don’t worry about it, either with your patients or your kids. They’ll all be fine in the long run. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Doc, take plenty of time for yourself and your family and don’t feel the least bit guilty about any of it! As a caregiver, you owe it to yourself AND your patients to take care of yourself first. If you aren’t healthy and well, you can’t help other selves in that special way that only you can do.

    It’s easy for those who tend to put others first to forget that they and their families are just as important as those whom they serve. It would be a tragedy for you to look back someday and discover that, in the headlong rush to “save the world”, you lost touch with the growth of your own family and happiness!

    Enjoy every moment with your loved ones that you can…for they need you too! πŸ™‚ may your Christmas and New Year be filled with Love and Joy!

    With Love,
    Stargazer
    May you and yours

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh Doc… I’m sorry you felt so conflicted, and sorrier that you had any guilt over that. You deserve to be entertained, to spend time with your kids… I hope you enjoyed everything hugely. As I’ve often said, you have to take care of you too, otherwise you can’t take care of others. A little fun is part of taking care of you. Wishing you peaceful nights and joyous days. Happy holiday hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I’m so glad you took the time to do what felt personally important to you. And I really hope that you make your own entertainment and pleasure a priority tooβ€”the line of patients wanting your attention is an endless oneβ€”they’ll always be there waiting for you and there will never be enough of you to go around. The biggest gift you can give to those you love is your happiness and well being, so when you look after yourselfβ€”mind, spirit and bodyβ€”your whole family benefits (and, in the long run, your patients too). Wishing you and your family a very Happy Holiday Season. ~ Jeannie :))

    Liked by 1 person

  16. No judging here…and we all have our needs. I think that you have more than earned a little break with some Han Solo eye candy. I know people who have already seen it more than once. They patients don’t need to know that you needed a little sanity break. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Han Solo? Is? Was? πŸ™‚
    Was a bit disappointed by this umpteenth se-se-se-quel.
    πŸ™‚
    That column was built in your honour, right?
    (Victoria Regina)
    πŸ™‚
    PS. Don’t beat yourself up. About kids. Staff. Patients. You’re a helicopter mom. Juggling just fine.
    πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

