Reading The Signs

IMG_6111

I spent the day yesterday playing with my kids. We made the BIGGEST pile of leaves I have ever, ever seen and literally swam in it. Why do people pay money to have someone get rid of their leaves and then pay to go to the gym? This upper arm, ab, and leg/butt workout was way fun and soooo much cheaper…

Then, I made sourdough cinnamon rolls and sourdough bread and hummus encrusted chicken and ninja bread cookies (like gingerbread men but in the shape of ninjas… they were pretty awesome).

I have been missing this…

To be honest, my job is a huge demand on my time, but so is blogging. Yes, blogging. You all know this. You do it, too. I read a ton of YOUR blogs. I answer everyone’s comments (I like to have the last word, so sue me). I write a post 6-7 days a week because I am obsessed over the blog traffic numbers. And what do I have to show for it? 

Not a whole helluva lot.

Well… except for making some really great friends (I love you guys!), honing my writing skills, and having plenty of stuff to put in that imaginary book for my kids some day.

It occurred to me today, though, that I have been missing looking my kids in the eye. My phone is always with me. My blog is at my fingertips. I am OCD. And ADD. And who the hell knows what else? So my eyes are constantly drifting down to the screen. Get a second to breathe? Check the phone: Oh, someone made a new comment… let’s respond. 

“Just a second, honey…”

If I make it seem like I have everything together, let me assure you, I do not. It is a delicate balancing act to keep it all from toppling down at any given moment.

My kids are still of the age where they like me most of the time and I intend to make use of this, creating memories enough to use as cement later when they realize I am not really that cool mom. 

Adolescence is coming….

Therefore, there will be changes here. I am not going to give up blogging, but I intend to slow down the pace a bit. How much? Dunno. I will let you know after New Years.

I realize it is a huge a time commitment to read this blog every time I post and to those of you that do, I thank you. You make this whole thing worthwhile. To those of you that don’t, I don’t blame you. 

Merry Christmas! See you in 2016….

209 thoughts on “Reading The Signs

  1. You know me and music. I simply couldn’t resist a video one last time. This post for some strange reason unbeknownst to me and my psyche brought to mind this song – ‘Lady Will Power.’ Good for you. I delete all of the time for this same reason and more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t know how you keep up with all the *comments.* There have been times I’ve thought about commenting and looked at 70+ comments already there and said “eff it” because, really what could I add and why give you the work?

    I’ve been blogging on/off for years and I think everyone, at some point, after a while at blogging decides to rethink things. (The follow through is variable.) Frankly I don’t know how you’ve done it this long.

    Right now the comments are north of 110, and **I** don’t have the time or desire to go through all of them, so if it has been asked/answered elsewhere, sorry but that sure looks like a picture of Innsbruck I have. Is it Austria?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, yes, yes. This blogging thing can become all-consuming. I too am drawing back a bit. I only post twice a week and I’m limiting my browsing time to 15 hours a week. Even that seems huge to me. Your priorities are in the right place and clearly by the number of comments, others can relate. Use your OCD tendencies to set limits and hold you to them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blogging does take up some time and I rarely have to respond to a comment. I have missed a few days more in recent weeks because of the holiday and my second job. In the end the kids come first and any parent will understand that. Just don’t stop blogging… four posts a week is less than 6 or 7 and more than 0. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I miss your daily posts but I think what you are doing now is way healthier! Truthfully I do not know how you can work two jobs, be a mom, make all of those homemade Christmas gifts, and STILL have time to blog… but I am glad that you do! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I’ve been around since the very early days of your blog and you were one of the first blogs I followed and as you know I’m a HUGE fan. I remember when you started posting daily and I thought “this lady is a doctor, has two small children, and blogs every day! God, I’m lazy!” But your audience grew, and continues to grow, and your attention to the comments is a big part of that reason. I would completely understand if you wanted to take your foot off the gas, even just a little. My problem is I don’t post enough or consistently and I struggle with that. I have a lot of interests in my life and blogging sometimes takes a back seat. But I really don’t have much of an excuse as I only one tenth as busy as you are. So in the new year you shall write a little less and I shall try to be more consistent and we’ll see what happens. As I’ve said before reading your blog is a highlight of my day but I’d be happy for you if less blogging meant more time with the kiddos and life in general.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Bravo. Do you feel compelled to feed the beast or your readers will bolt for other parts? Because I can assure you that won’t happen. As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’m unable to read every post. I can’t make that kind of commitment but you shouldn’t be insulted. I love Raymond Carver but I don’t pick up one of his books every single day. It’s too much. Less is more. And your kids will be happy for the new attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I do have some very loyal readers but I sure don’t blame the ones who don’t hang on my every word! It’s just blogging, right? Still, there is that competitive side of me that wants to WIN at blogging… but what does that mean, even? And do I REALLY even want that? Every time my numbers go up because someone shared one of my posts on social media I start to have panic attacks because a little spot light is OK but a big one is not. AND to be honest, I am too lazy and time constrained to put in the work to ever become a mega blogger type. So, I will happily plug away at a more sedate pace and enjoy myself more. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. i always wondered how you did it! i guess there are no elves after all, do your thing girly, I have been slacking myself but with my free time i’m going to check blogs again. check when it is convenient for YOU, none of us are going anywhere πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had to do the same thing a while ago. I was blogging nearly every day and had to pare it down to a couple of days a week. I really enjoy the people I’ve met and the blogging itself, but it is sooooooo time-consuming to do it well. I’m like you and must do it well, so something has to give before that “something” is me or my precious relationships!

    Take it from me, all the blogger friends will still be there and oh, do we understand when you cut back! Be well and enjoy your family time! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Thank you for blogging. I work around a ton of doctors and there are only a few that I can really identify being actually ‘human’ (hence the subtitle of your blog). You’re correct, you need time to participate in your own life as well. You have humans that you live with that appreciate the elusive item of yours called time.
    Scaling back to blogging once a week isn’t a bad thing and your followers will eagerly await your next post, just as we’ve always done.

    Wishing you a more leisurely 2016. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. If I were to never read another post from you again, but I was ASSURED that for every syllable missing from these pages you had shared one more word, wink, smile, hug, tear, or laugh with one of your children, I would be completely assured in my belief that you must be one of the finest individuals whose writings have ever graced these WordPress pages. That said, have a very Merry Christmas, a Happy and Joyous New Year, grab your children, and get back out to the leaf-pile. : )

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I totally get this. I’ve been thinking about the same thing. I’ve been posting once a day for so long that it seems natural to sit here and type every morning while having my coffee. Like you, I enjoy the virtual conversation and I enjoy having the benefit of good writing and thought provocation (which is one the reasons I come here). But I do sometimes wonder if my time wouldn’t be better spent doing something else–at least some of the time. Blessings as you try to sort out what makes sense in your life. I’ll be delighted if you decide to continue blogging frequently and delighted if you don’t, knowing that you’ve done the mental calculations and come to an answer that is best for you and your life. All best wishes for a happy new year!

    By the way your comment about the leaves and gym membership made me smile. I recall once reading, “Why do people have gym memberships and riding lawnmowers.” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  12. I took a bit of a break myself…since about October….yes I still blogged and read others but I completely quit doing one of my link ups and the other one is on hold until January…in which I am still contemplating whether to bring it back at all. As you said …adolescence is coming and someday our kids won’t want to hang out with us any longer…but the blog will always be here to return to. I had thought about quitting it all together but it really is a form of therapy for my introverted self and therefore I find an excuse to keep it. Hope your holiday was happy and that the New Year brings you plenty of things to write about and all the happiness you deserve πŸ’ŒTrista.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I didn’t read every day but I enjoyed reading whenever I dropped by. Thank you for your informative, inspiring, and thought provoking posts.

    It’s always good to know when to pull the trigger. Merry Christmas and all the best with the changes in the coming year.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Pingback: Dedicated Blogger Award | Riddle from the Middle

  15. I think blogging can be very therapeutic and is a great outlet for our thoughts, particularly creative ones. Yet it can be so hard to balance writing posts and resonding to comments – especially on a daily basis – with home and working life. I’ve never posted every day, but I spend a long time reading people’s posts and commenting. I admire the fact that you manage to keep your blog going and have gained so many wonderful followers – and you have two blogs as well! I love historical fiction, and write it myself. The Victorian era fascinates me, so I’ll pop over and have a look as soon as the Christmas holidays are over! Great gargoyle in your profile picture! (I’ll aim for shorter comments in future.) πŸ™‚ Almost forgot . . . Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Ok…don’t reply!! I get how you feel, this is the reason I started my schedule of posting at least 2-3 times per week but have not been able to keep it up…. we are always juggling our different jobs and so many times the things we really like to do for ourselves become another job simply because we are so stretched. You are worth reading in any quantity, and longer between your posts just builds up the anticipation for all of us. πŸ™‚
    ps. very jealous of the ninja cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. And it’s all true. I complain that I “can’t” write (because I can’t disengage from work stress). Then when I should be noveling, I’m doing all the things you said. So glad you had a good time with the kids and the leaves. I hope you enjoyed the holiday too. Happy New Year. Mega Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Agreed! I saw a meme on Facebook the other day that had a kid in the background looking on longingly while his parents in the foreground were both looking at their phones. The caption said: “I wish I was their phone so that they would hold me and look at me all the time.” It really hit home. I am really trying to cut down my use of the phone when I am around my kids. It’s only been marginally successful – after all, here I am sitting on the sidelines at taekwondo catching up here instead of watching them!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Good on you — do whatever gives you bliss. I love it when I’m productive outside of blogging. I can’t stop writing, however, so the world will be able to read about Jet and Kieron and the war of Ilona and the Westlands for many many issues to come, whether they want to, or not, LOL!

    Also, you should share your sourdough cinnamon roll recipe! Do you keep a starter/mother culture going? My mother used to keep a batch for Amish Friendship bread — we had some for *months and months and months* til everyone we knew was sick of it, hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I often wonder why I am devoting so much time to blogging. It feels good to purge my head of all the swirling thoughts and that dang PUBLISH button is addictive. My teenagers are alternately impressed and embarrassed by my creative endeavour but my Small Girl still needs me to put down the phone and help with a jigsaw. I think we just need to keep adjusting the dial until we get the balance right.
    Thanks for reading sultanabun.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Don’t be too hard on yourself. You clearly are a very talented person with interests in many fields. I’m sure your blogging is done at night when the kids are asleep. And yes I noticed you like to have the last word. πŸ˜‰ You’re an example: I have not been able to post every day, though I know my figures would go up. (There are other issues why I find it harder to post) But I also cherish the great friends I’ve made, and being slightly TOC myself, I have – almost – finished reading all my posts’ backlog. πŸ˜‰
    (Photo taken in Germany? BAvaria?)
    Be good Victoire.
    (And if you miss a post one day, not a big deal)

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love your posts! I love this post. Your posts are rich, well-written, thoughtful, and they always connect with me when I have the chance to read them. Please, please keep on! Yours is one of the best blogs around, one that often brings me a smile! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Your day sounds heavenly! I love blogging and I do watch the numbers, but the blog will be there after the kids are gone, and they grow up and fly from the nest in the blink of an eye. I have cut back on the blogging in the last year or so because I have a novel to edit. It’s possible to stay in touch without letting it take over or, rather, take away from your real life. I wish you many happy moments with your children, and take lots of photographs because you will be blogging about those happy memories long after the kids are gone and you have all the time in the world. And they will remember making leaf piles and cinnamon rolls with their Daddy forever. Wishing you and your whole family a very happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

