Kicked Out

 Mother tombstone 
“Mommy, when I am grown up, I am going to live in this house.” She smiled up at me brightly, beaming.

Flashes of grown children not leaving the nest flashed before my eyes. The palpitations started… 

Dizziness… 

Shortness of breath….

“No you’re not!” I replied, firmly. 

“Yes, I am,” she answered calmly. “I am going to be the mommy and I will have my own babies here.”

Confused, I asked, “Where am I living, then? Here?”

“Oh, no mommy. You will have a special apartment somewhere. You’ll live there.” Another sweet smile as she danced off to play with her dolls.

I guess * special apartments* are what they are calling nursing homes now, huh? 

One of the things about focusing on your career first and having kids so much later in life than everyone you grew up with is that you find yourself extra sensitive to this sort of thing…. I will probably be using a walker at their high school graduation as it is.

I think I am doomed.

She already has plans for taking over my clinic. I guess my home was a natural next step.

118 thoughts on “Kicked Out

  1. This made me laugh. I had my girls in later years also. They’re both in their 20’s, I’m retired and 61. The youngest just moved in with me last year. I’ll probably be using a walker and be in one of those “special apartments” before they have grandchildren. Both focused on careers. Loved your post.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. When our son (youngest) was 7 and our daughter (oldest) was 26, she moved in with us for most of a year. By the time she was ready to move, he asked *when* would she? He needed her to, as we all did. He has always known that adult children can move back, but they don’t get to stay. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Me, too. I am an older parent as well. My boys have assured me that they will never ever leave me and my baby girl has told me she is moving away but that I can come see her and all her pets. I tell all of them to just put me in a nursing home that has good books and gives me dessert, and to cut their visits short if I get unpleasant, because that is how older people say they are tired and need some rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I had my daughter at 37. There were some very challenging times, like puberty and menopause around the same time, but in some ways, she kept me young. That’s how I know some songs by Lady Gaga and Pink and Evanescence.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha HA! I had my daughter when I was 37, and she delights in telling me how most of the kids her age have grandmothers younger than me! I am pretty sure she is not going to be wanting to push me around in my wheelchair when I get old!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I remember that earlier post in which she fired you, but gave you a good recommendation. I’m sure she’ll find you a very nice “special apartment.” πŸ˜‰

    When my daughters were little, they planned to live together, but my younger daughter would do all of the cooking for the older one and her best friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had initially intended to use a photo that showed her from behind. A suggestion of her without fully showing her. But I spied the tombstone in my collection of photos and thought it better conveyed the gist of what she is saying but not saying…. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hehe! You gotta look at it differently — Obviously you’ve created a lovely comfortable nest and have established yourself as a worthy role model πŸ™‚ Eventually that nest will be uncomfortable and she’ll rebel into her own special apartment πŸ˜› lol

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My daughter gave birth six months ago right before she turned forty. I had to stay and help her for three months. She was so mean and I was helplessly hostage. Thank God the baby is adorable and everything is back to normal..

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m whispering this…my eldest is 26 and I had my youngest at 46 …she’s almost nine which makes me almost 55… that can’t be right… I don’t feel it…most days. Two have flown the coop, one has gone and come back twice, maybe three times, and is making plans yet again. Meanwhile, the walking frame is staying in whatever cupboard it’s housed. I can’t afford to get old yet. I have, however, promised all of them that when I do I shall come visit them and pee on their couches for all the messes I’ve cleared up. Revenge works both ways. πŸ˜‰ Just hope I can remember by then. πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. Both of my kids have said exactly this to us at one time or another. Strangely, my daughter and her husband are moving in with us for a while when they move back to the area in a couple of months. My daughter wants to buy our house from us (!) eventually – there would be an addition built on for us. It happens all the time around here. We’re going back to villages!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: Left Over Articles (1-16-2015) – My Daily Musing

  12. A special apartment, need not mean a nursing home…more a luxury waterfront apartment.
    I ended up on a walker for a few weeks when my kids were small and I was in hospital. Your sense of humour can really go into overdrive at times like that and I pictured climbing straight up rugged mountains with my walker. Mummy conquers the world. When my best friend and I both turned 40, I found this little wind up grannie with a walking frame for each of us and we had a race. I think one broke before it even started. Fortunately, haven’t needed the walker since but most of us are now getting ricketty in one way or another..including our 9 year old dog.Mind you, we bought a younger female dog and perked up, lost 14 kilos and his arthritis largely went away. Not sure about what that says for aging mothers, especially after your subsequent posts. I’ll just leave it there. xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Doomed you are.
    When I was 5 my grandparents visited from Brittany. I noticed my grandfather was shorter than my mother. I then understood everything in a flash. I knew I was growing. So I told my mother I had understood everything. “Yes, Darling?” (One lifted eye-brow) “Well children grow and grow. Then I will be taller than you and you will start shrinking like Granpa here, and when you will be all shrunk I will take of you, lke you take care of me now :)”. Relieved smile on her face. “Yes, dear. I hope you will”.
    Well I did. Much later. Take care of her, as she was shrinking away from cancer. πŸ™‚ I didn’t know I would have to keep my promise. πŸ˜‰
    So, don’t worry too much. Coluche, a french humorist (In the times we still had humour) once said: be nice to your kids, they will pay for your retirement home.
    Just make sure when you sign the papers over for the clinic, to have a decent pension signed in.
    πŸ˜‰
    PS. Thanks for the laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

