Risen (As In Sourdough)

IMG_5623

I had a request for my sourdough cinnamon roll recipe. I have worked on perfecting this for years, though truthfully it has taken years because I only make them only 1-2 times a year. I am not gonna lie, they are an awful lot of work. However, I can safely say they are the best damn sourdough cinnamon rolls you will ever bless your mouth with. 

Victo’s Sourdough Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients for the dough:

1 1/2 c fed sourdough starter
2/3 c whole milk 
2 Tbsp granulated sugar 
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp butter, melted 
1 tsp salt
2-3 c unbleached white bread flour
1/2 tsp baking soda

Ingredients for the filling:

3 Tbsp melted butter
1/2 c coarse sugar like turbinado
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts), optional

Ingredients for the glaze:

1/2 c confectioner’s (powdered) sugar 
1-2 Tbsp milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

You want to start at maybe 2PM m-ish the day before. In a large bowl mix together sourdough starter, milk, sugar, vanilla extract, melted butter, salt, and 2 c of flour. Knead this together to form a rather sticky dough. Add up to 1 c more flour if the dough is not holding together into a ball. Do not add too much flour or the rolls will be too dense.

Once the dough is homogeneous (that magical consistency that takes maybe ten minutes of kneading), sprinkle in the baking soda and make sure it is thoroughly incorporated. Roll the dough into a ball and place it in the bottom of a greased bowl. Turn once to coat. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, and place it in a warm area to rise. 

This first rise should double the dough and can take 2-3 hours. Longer if it is cold, quicker if it is warmer.

When risen, turn it out onto a floured surface and knead it a few times to get rid of bubbles. Then roll the dough into a rectangle measuring roughly 9β€³ x 18β€³.

Brush the rolled dough with the melted butter, and sprinkle the entire surface with coarse sugar, cinnamon, and chopped nuts. Make sure you cover the rectangle end to end to make sure the end pieces get filling too.

Starting on one of the long sides of the rectangle, roll the dough into a log. Using thread or dental floss (NOT the mint flavored kind) cut rounds off of the log, and place them into a buttered 9×13 pyrex casserole dish. I usually cut 12-15 rolls.

Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 2 hrs, then place in the fridge overnight. An hour or two before baking, remove from the fridge and let sit at room temperature until they are about double in size from when you first made them (it will rise some in the fridge overnight so it may not have far to go). Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until the tops just begin to brown. Don’t undercook them, though… that’s just gross. 

Mix up the glaze and drizzle over the tops of the rolls once they come out of the oven. Serve warm. 

If you are brave enough to try to make them, tell me how it went!

60 thoughts on “Risen (As In Sourdough)

  1. Considering you are a doctor and all, I had to have a wee giggle at your spelling mistake in the first paragraph of the method. I know these ingredients will eventually reach the bowel but maybe they should begin in a bowl. I know you have to go back and fix that now but I think it is a wonderful typo! J love c

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Yum. A couple of technical questions. Do you know what hydration you keep your fed starter? Like, when you feed it, is it 1:1 water/flour? Weight? Volume? The reason I’m asking is it makes a difference to my next question. Is the finished dough a sticky, shaggy dough or a loose, doesn’t really form a ball (it spreads out soon after you form the ball)? This is the only recipe that I’ve seen that includes baking soda (granted I don’t make a lot of cinnamon rolls). Do you have any idea what that is adding to the recipe? Yeah, yeah, you know me. I like knowing the why of baking stuff. These do sound excellent. I’ve got starter begging to be used for something. I may have a bff visiting… πŸ™‚ Sorry if these are too Mr. Science-y and that I should stfu and just bake. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    • I use a 1 cup flour to 1/2 cup water ratio for my starter. The dough is loose, spreads out after forming the ball. Baking soda? Hell, I don’t know for sure but I believe it helps with rising since it does not use extra yeast? This is a melding of several different recipes and I have never tried to make them without it. (Awesome questions!)

      Liked by 2 people

    • This is for both of you. Victo, I’m impressed to meet another sourdough. The sourdough is a yeast and bacteria culture. The yeast raises the bread and feeds the bacteria alcohol. The bacteria adds the tang to the bread, and protects the yeast from mold. Because this is not rapid dry yeast, it takes a long time to raise. Many add a bit of soda to speed the process along, but I don’t. A longer rise gives the lacto-bacteria more time to add the flavor I like. Looks like a great recipe, and the sour wouldn’t be as appreciated in a dessert recipe.

      Liked by 4 people

  3. I don’t partake sweets of any kind and if I did, my hips would never forgive me. I have tons of leftover cookies people brought at Christmas time, waiting in the fridge for company. They won’t pass my lips.

    I like the sounds of this recipe, though. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This sounds extremely yummy to my grumbling tummy! (I skipped lunch you see). I am so tempted to try it out, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen any sourdough starter anywhere in the stores. DO you think I can use anything else as substitute?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. As a rule, do doctors make good cooks? I imagine most of them are, though I really don’t have any evidence to support my hypothesis! At any rate, these cinnamon rolls look great!

    Like

  6. Wow, sounds delicious! I only ever make cinnamon rolls with dough from my bread maker. To be completely honest, I don’t even know what “sour dough starter” is, so I’ll probably just stick to my plain Jane bread machine rolls!

    Like

Leave a Reply

