Paved

IMG_2054

“A blank wall of social and professional antagonism faces the woman physician that forms a situation of singular and painful loneliness, leaving her without support, respect, or professional counsel.” Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman to receive a medical degree in the US, graduating first in her class at Geneva Medical College in New York in 1849.

To all of the women who went before, who fought for their own right to practice medicine making a career in medicine possible for women today…. I salute you.

Happy National Women Physicians Day! 

84 thoughts on “Paved

  1. Thank you for letting me know!

    My boss, who graduated medical school 50 years ago — and is still working full-time at 74 — was/is one of those trailblazers. And you know what? There are STILL physicians who try to “mansplain” things to her, in spite of the fact that she is one of the most respected physicians of any gender in her field. She puts them in their place quite elegantly and cordially. It is a joy to behold!

    Liked by 6 people

  2. If you want a really awesome and inspiring book to read, check out, “The Doctor Wore Petticoats.” I found it for $0.00 in Kindle. Oh the courage and fortitude it takes to blaze a trail!
    Happy Woman Physician Day to you and all the other women outthere practicing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never realized how difficult it was for women doctors until something happened in our small town. A woman doctor settled there as one of the male doctors was retiring. The retiring doctor advised all his patients to go to one of the other male doctors not the new lady in town. I was so mad I immediately signed our whole family with the woman doctor. We’ve been going to women doctors ever since.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blackwell “paid it forward” by also teaching other women, and her sister Emily later joined her practice.
    I remember a woman who was sort of in my parents’ circle of friends was unusual because she was a physician. She received her degree in the late 1940s, I believe.

    When I was working on my Ph.D., there were only 2 or 3 women faculty members in the large history department, and none of them worked in my field. One more came, and she became one of my dissertation readers. Of course years later, there were many more women in the department.

    Happy National Women Physician Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Though I’ve never had a firsthand experience with your practice, I can tell that you are a great doctor who cares about the field. I worked a hospital job for two years and could instantly tell the difference between those who were there for the paycheck and those who loved the people. You would fall under the latter category. Thank you for all that you do πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Not very related to your post but I wish the female GP I see wouldn’t lecture and scaremonger me on how in her opinion –
    1) I shouldn’t use The Pill, only condoms
    2) I should marry and have kids.

    I just want my pills.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Hail to her. That was early.
    The first french physician Madeleine Brès, got her degree in 1875. But she was an exception. The first french woman to become a hospital doctor (internshio and residence, lala) was Thérèse Bertrand-Fontaine in 1930.
    The world has changed. Slowly but it has. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

