Take Out

  
How many decisions do I make in a day? 

Hundreds. 

Thousands.

My kids need for me to make decisions for them. I make decisions for myself. People pay me to make decisions for or about or with them. A never ending onslaught of decisions.

It is exhausting, quite frankly.

So when you ask where I want to go for dinner, I appreciate that you are trying to defer to my wants and needs but quite honestly by that point my brain is done with decisions. 

Just tell me.

Don’t ask.

I don’t always want to be in control.

And no, I am not just talking about the food…

71 thoughts on “Take Out

  1. I can definitely relate to the feeling. It took me years to pinpoint that feeling and how it affected by daily life, and even longer to voice it. And longer still to do it in a way that asked for what I wanted or needed….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Naughty girl!! From looking at blogs today, we are all in a frisky mood. I feel like you. Worked relentlessly on Sunday, speaking 4 languages very badly and the only thing I could decide on was how much vodka to pour in my glass!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am not sure if it is that time of year or what, but I soooooo get what you are saying. I spend all day putting out fires and then I just want to come home and be quiet. Many nights I could give two hoots about dinner, but I swear it is the highlight of my husband’s day. He lives from meal to meal. I actually do not like going out when I am that worn out because I am nasty…and ckwanky….
    Unfortunately, when he tries to pick a place to eat, it is the last place in the world where or what I want to eat. And so he gives up. I made my own bed so to speak.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s like pulling teeth to get my husband to say where he wants to go out to eat. I appreciate it when he gives me two or three options to choose from. That’s so much easier than coming up with the choices.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Why has nobody commented on how the photo relates to the topic? Isn’t that part of decision making too? Surely there is more than just the choice of a restaurant here.

    Like

  6. Glad you’re allowing one or two standard deviations out of your control…
    (And I do understand. One of the nice things of giving my company, is the fact that I don’t have to take decisions a minute. Now about the food… depends where…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

