Scarfing  

two birds painted on a pink scarf 

“Doc, I think this is the first time I have ever seen you without a scarf!” she exclaimed as I walked into the exam room.

I pondered this for a moment.

She comes in an awful lot. Is it possible that I wear scarves that often? 

It had not really occurred to me before….

I started wearing scarves in earnest after my first child was born. Baby drool and upchuck do not look good on a professional woman but especially not when that woman works in the medical profession. Appearing dirty in any way is an instant black mark against you. With a mere flip and a twist I could hide any stains in a matter of seconds. It saved me more times than I care to admit.

Further, I could conceivably wear the same shirt five days in a row with a different scarf each day and everyone would think it is a completely different outfit… Not that I ever *did* that, you understand. Maybe two days in a week when I could not get laundry done or three days when I was backpacking through Europe. Still, in the event of a collapse of modern society, I have my wardrobe wrapped up. 

Are YOU prepared?

Admittedly, I have a vast collection of scarves that spans decades. I hate to throw them out so they accumulate in my closet even if they are not being actively worn. I even have some ancient silk ones that once belonged to my grandmother…

Now that my kids are well past the spit up phase I think these scarves have become a security blanket I can wear around my neck. I used to hide behind a white coat. Before that, I hid behind a short, red London Fog type jacket with the sleeves pushed up that I wore in all weather, rain or shine, even in 100 degree weather. 

Time to dial back the scarf use, I guess.

96 thoughts on “Scarfing  

  1. Armour! We all arm ourselves with various things, security blankets perhaps. Necks are important, they speak to vulnerability. I used to always wear a coat or layers of sweaters, wrapping as much protection as possible around me.

    You said “scarfing” and I was so hoping this was going to be a foodie post. Cheetos, salsa, chocolate…. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  2. I have used the scarf for wardrobe versatility SO many times! Or seriously, if all I have that’s clean is a long sleeve t shirt and I am like “crap…..” and I need something to wear to work, there is probably a scarf I can find for it. But then it gets hot out and I’m out of options. To me, every other woman who wears a scarf is super cute and seriously fashionable and I don’t feel that way under my scarf. Maybe it is sort of a way to hide. But for what it’s worth, I am suspecting everyone sees you like I see other women in their way cute scarves, very sophisticated and fashion forward. And if I were you, I would totally keep those scarves! And the grandmother’s scarves too, for sure. So pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always loved scaves but I’ve never gotten into wearing them. I don’t know how to wear them and because I’m quite short, I have to have a shorter scarf of it is just too bulky for me. Perhaps one day I will figure out how to wear the couple of dozen that have been gifted to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think scarves look good on women but I seldom see them around here. My ex was a tall (6 foot), thin french woman who loved fashion. She had some scarves that I thought looked good but she seldom wore them. One night we were amorous and I had not shaved. As a result there were red marks on her neck.the next morning. She was quite upset at me and ranted and raved that I had to shave before coming to bed in the future. She positioned a scarf appropriately so the red was covered and was still upset at me when I dropped her at work. When I picked her up that evening, she was very happy and smiley. She said that at coffee break that morning her friends had remarked on her scarf. In fact one friend became suspicious when my ex blushed, so she pulled off the scarf and they all saw the red marks. They started teasing her about her love life and she was delighted. I guess women get social acceptance for sex as much as men do.Who knew?

    Anyway, every time I see a woman with a scarf,I think of that happy memory – Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. i have many scarves too as they can dress up or change an outfit in a hurry. I never thought about using them to cover things that might need covering but I love a splash of color with my white coat. My “go to” piece of clothing is a navy blue jacket that is quite warm in a chilly classroom/conference room. I find that I grab it as I hate the lab coat look. Having done a portion of my training at Mayo Clinic, I seldom wear the lab coat unless I am covering my scrubs outside the operating theatre.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have one doctor — dermatologist — who always wears scrubs, even in an office setting. He always looks so comfortable, and I suppose if there are ever any unsightly stains, he can just change into a fresh set. Maybe you could try that, Doc, with or without a scarf. I sure wouldn’t let one mouthy patient dictate your wardrobe. For all your other patients, the scarf could be part of your signature style, and they’d miss them if they were gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think she was being critical. We both laughed over it. It was funny to think about how often I really do wear them. Scrubs are not very flattering on a female physique, to be honest. If I did more procedures, I might think about it, though! 😉

      Like

  7. I love scarves, and would gladly wear them 9 months of the year. I tend to despise clothes when it’s hot. I don’t think you should stop wearing them, or even scale back — it could well be your signature accessory.
    Also, I love the print shown 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Clothes can be our exterior armor, I think, much more than mere fashion expression. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, especially in some situations. As much as if like to think I’ve grown out of many of mine, I’m still a work in progress. I fall back on things that are tried and true when I’m feeling anxious or nervous about certain situations, ones that maybe don’t fit my personality anymore.

    We do evolve and grow out of certain armors, as you mentioned. Maybe your scarves have become something else for you now? Nostalgia? A signature? A flair or pop of color amongst routine?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. start adding a pretty pin to hold the scarf, that changes the entire look…now they will notice the pin…something a little different…I had a friend who used to use napping rings to add anther level of dimension to the scarfs…they make pretty interesting accessorie to the scarfs….don’t let one patient change your style…..kat

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing

  11. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing – Br Andrew's Muses

  12. Pingback: My Article Read (4-29-2016) (4-30-2016) – My Daily Musing | franciscansonthemountains

  13. Why on earth would you stop? The fact that the woman commented isn’t a negative thing, is it? It sounds to me as though she had noticed a stylish something that you did, maybe even admired it. Even if it was merely an idle comment, so what? Be you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Truthfully, I am not sure scarves are *me* so much as they are a fashion crutch, but more at issue is realizing that I might have an unhealthy relationship with an accessory. I don’t want scarves to define my existence. Does that mean I will remove them entirely from my wardrobe? Nah. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Such lovely thoughts, and close to my heart – I refuse to wear scrubs, shoes tend to be my go to feature, but am only now discovering scarves. (I always thought I had the wrong shaped face.) So glad to have found your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

