Neurotransmitter


You make me feel pain. You help me remember. You move me from here to there. You control my reflexes. You arouse me. You put me to sleep. You make my heart race and then make it slow down. You even help me to see more clearly. 

You can do so very many things to this body of mine.

But…. you cannot make me hate.

I choose to believe there is good in everyone but before you decide that I am some wonderful, loving human being you should know that I choose to believe this for very selfish reasons. I choose to believe it because I want to believe there is good in me and I choose to believe it because it helps me find peace when dealing with difficult people in my life. 

When faced with these people, I take a step back and ask myself what is their motivation. What are they afraid of? Then, it is no longer about me. 

It is about their fear. 

The bigger the attack, the bigger the fear.

I cannot control what anyone else does to me but I can choose my own response.

I choose not to hate.

54 thoughts on “Neurotransmitter

  1. I can dislike someone immensely, but can never hate them. Even those who have been nasty or unkind to me are not hated, but severed from my life. In your profession, you can’t do that of course, but I think your philosophy is terrific.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So many people from different walks of life, different cultures and in different parts of the world experience hate. It’s a natural emotion, however, I believe we’ve evolved to the point that we don’t have to allow it to affect our lives and we can overcome it. It’s how you can be the best you you can be.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice post. Hate is a very strong word. Haltered can shatter a person, mentally and physically. Hate ruins lives. We are seeing evidence of it now- in all parts of the world.

    Dislike is so much healthier and a better way to live. (I think). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I try this approach as well, which is why I think I’ve been so turned off of social media lately. This election…. It seems like almost everyone is choosing to behave badly. I’d rather watch Spongebob.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Reblogged this on Anything is Possible! and commented:
    I believe there is good in everybody. Sometimes it’s a golden nugget buried under a ton of fear. If digging for good hurts too much, it’s okay to stop and take care of yourself so your own good still shines. Maybe it will light the way.

    Like

  6. Yep ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Do you know how many ppl would choose not to hate if they believed others wanted to make them hate ? Just out of pure ornery, they’d refuse to hate..

    Maybe someone should pass around that, hating, is what some ppl want you to do..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So well put! The bigger (or more violent) the attack, the bigger the fear. And fear is a choice. I believe that, too. I also believe that more people than not believe as we do. It’s just that the fear-mongers make themselves difficult to ignore. Peace-loving people tend not to shout their loving messages or shove their harmony down other people’s throats! ๐Ÿ˜ โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

