Unkempt

img_2513

“Um, Doc, I can’t do that.” A look of horror crossed her face.

“You are here for your physical, right?” I checked the schedule again to make sure I was not hallucinating. Then, I double checked her preventive care, just in case. She was indeed due.

“Well. I wasn’t expecting to have to do… that.

“Technically, I can’t force you to do anything. It IS your body, after all.” I shrugged, trying to use my body language to convey that I was not trying to pressure her. 

“It’s just,” she leaned forward and whispered, “I didn’t shave my legs.”

“Look, I haven’t shaved my legs in ages, either, so you have nothing to worry about.” I lifted a pants leg to show off a bit of scruffy ankle. “See? No judgement here!”

We both laughed.

She got her PAP done.

121 thoughts on “Unkempt

      • I figured as much, which is why I still went through with it. You docs probably see a ton of weird crap! Still makes one a bit self-conscious though, realising you’ve forgotten a part of your hygiene and now someone will see! haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • I know people imagine that is the first thing that pops into our heads when we see a patient out on the street but it isn’t. Hell, I don’t even remember what my OWN hoohah looks like, much less someone else’s. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  1. One time Hannah and I were about to get intimate. She was actually the initiator that time, but then stopped suddenly. I thought I did something wrong and asked why. She lifted her jeans leg and apparently there was hair there, but I didn’t see any. I laughed so hard at that. As if I’d care in the lead up to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even when you do not shave your legs you are still hairy.

    For men it is okay-ish but for women less than that. I never understood why but from a vanity point of view a smooth skin somehow looks better. Call it mental programming.

    Vanity has its subtle effects…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha! There is something cultural about American women and leg shaving. I can’t quite… trace it. πŸ˜‰
    (Is that photo taken in Florence? That faΓ§ade rings a bell. haha! A church faΓ§ade rings a bell? Brian, how low can you get?) πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

