He Who Should Not Be Named

IMG_3118

He has always called me by my first name, my arch nemesis…. my own personal Moriarty.

He did it again. Pointedly.

The 12th floor conference room, looking out at the twilight skyline. Tall sky scrapers loomed all around, bearing silent and impartial witness. 

Just me and just him, waiting for the others to file in. 

And you know what?

For the first time ever I used his first name. 

Out loud. 

Back at him. 

It was a mortal wound delivered with a weapon sharper than a sword, bloodless but effective. He shriveled up into nothingness and was no more.

114 thoughts on “He Who Should Not Be Named

  1. Ha ha ha. I had a manager that did this to me to (I use only my initials, never my full name). I made a point of uncovering her first and middle names and turned it right back on her. She stopped.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s more important than Harry Potter – it’s real – just listen to discussions in Parliament and if a member is “Playing up” the speaker will generally speak the words that will control him “If the member for Wherever does not resume his seat and cease from interjecting, I shall name him”. Names have power – as do medical titles.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. In my profession, I speak with doctors regularly; and the younger ones will pick up the phone and answer by their first name. Whenever I hear something like, “Hey, this is Jeff?” I have to ask and you are… And they’re like, Dr Jeff Jones and then give the service they practice under. But older docs, they let you know from the beginning. Dr. Smith on call for Cardiology. I appreciate the far less casual introduction. It’s just confusing otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • In a professional capacity, I tend to use my professional designation unless I know someone well and know they won’t be confused, in which case I use my first name. When I am out socially, not professionally, I never use my title. I’d rather people didn’t know what I do for a living! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Did you apply irony, sarcasm, cynicism or a combination for knock-out?

    The best part is that you can hide the mockery behind a mask of professionalism with fancy jargon and then add one single word of contempt that only “that person” will recognise. You keep your mask on and nobody notices…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

