In Writing

IMG_5896

She stood out on the balcony of the little hotel cradling a steaming cup of tea. Across the way stood a house, partially shrouded in the morning mist. She wondered who lived and loved there. What were they doing at this moment within those walls?

A sigh escaped from her lips. Was it happiness? Contentment? She was not sure.

His arms wrapped around her gently from behind and he kissed her neck. It made chills run up and down her spine. She smiled to herself as he whispered, “I love you…”

Turning, she looked up into his vacant eyes. 

“I need to write, dear,” she said.

He nodded understandingly and stepped back, allowing her to pass.

She made her way to the laptop resting on the corner desk, setting down the tea carefully so as not to spill it, then began typing away at the keys. She was getting better at this. Still, she needed to work on his eyes and his movements were not as fluid as she would have liked….

The words tumbled out as she wrote the day. She dressed him in jeans and a Tshirt that hugged his muscular chest just so. Should she change his hair color? She glanced at the figure standing still outside. No. Not today. She left it black. They would go for a walk in the hills, in the fog, but she had to be specific, detailed. No writing him into a corner again this time. And then tonight. Tonight there would be epic love making.

Finally she closed the laptop. He turned around at the sound of the click, smiling pleasantly at her again as he stepped back into the room.

“I have an idea. Let’s go for a walk,” he said.

“Yes. Let’s do…”

67 thoughts on “In Writing

  1. The ramifications of the story seem to hit me more and more as I sit and think about it. Her lover in life is her lover in words. Is he really their? Is he a living breathing muse or fictional delusion. I love it. So much implicated so briefly.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Wowzer! I didn’t catch on immediately but this was great! I saw a comment somewhere on the web a while back and this reminded me of that. What if the main character in a novel fell in love with the person reading it?

    Liked by 4 people

  3. I have missed some of your other fiction but I like this one very much! Can one fall in love with one’s fictional character? Has her real lover become her fictional lover? Does he exist at all? The opening imagination was good too and set the mood. You pulled us in and made us care and wonder. Well done!

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I can totally relate with this!! Sometimes I get so lost in the stories I create that the divide between reality and fiction is muddied. This is brilliant, your writing never ceases to inspire.

    On a side note, I wanted to say a heartfelt thank you for following my blog. You’ve been one of my favourite blogs for quite some time now, and to see that you liked one of my posts brought a huge smile to my face. It’s been a tough few months and you added some much needed brightness. Thank you ❀

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Pingback: In Writing β€” Behind the White Coat | Arrowhead Freelance and Publishing

  6. I LOVE this.
    I enjoy personifying things in my writing. But this takes transforming a nonperson to a living, breathing human to a whole new level. You not only made him real, but you described beautifully the intimacy we writers have with our subjects. Bravo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

