Costume 

Interior, Boston church
I am standing there, handing out candy to the hundreds of kids that file by in their costumes when I see him and see that he sees me…

The world is too small.

It’s been years.

He stares at me in my costume and wig and takes a second to recall how he knows my face. Another time, another place. Recognition washes over him.

I know his secrets.

No matter the masks. No matter the past, present, or future. 

I know his lies AND his truth.

“Hey, Doc!”

I smile. He stares at me with a mixture of dread and embarrassment. I wait to see what will come next. 

Finally he sighs. “I promise to call and schedule my physical tomorrow.”

54 thoughts on “Costume 

  1. I had this encounter with my doctor a few years in a grocery store. This nurse doesn’t always make the best patient even though I should know better. My doctor is more patient with me than I imagine I would be if I were her. My doctor is a keeper though so I try to shoot down my natural inclination of thinking ignorance is bliss causing me to postpone appointments.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you had a great Halloween! We live too far out in the town to get any trick or treaters, but we had tons when we lived in Chicago. One year, before things became so bad you can’t do it, I made candy apples for the kids. I could hear some of them yelling down the street, “Go to the white and green house, The lady has candy apples!” And they were gone in 15 minutes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very suspenseful! I never thought about how, as a physician, you know very personal things about people you meet outside the examination room!

    I’ve been buried deep in all the things life throws at a person, but I needed to carve out some time to visit my Peeps! Miss you!❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

