A Conversation

Girl sitting on a driftwood stump at a lake
“Mommy, Caden was telling me some stuff about Pluto…” She started to list some facts that were blatantly incorrect.

“Baby, you know that isn’t right. Remember learning about Pluto at the planetarium in Chicago?”

“But Caden said…”

“You don’t have to believe everything Caden says.”

“Yes I do. I’m his girlfriend!”

She is five years old, people. 

Kindergarten.

“Caden? Who is this Caden fellow anyway?”

“He’s in first grade. He’s my boyfriend but we can’t get married until we are twenty-eight. That’s the rule.”

She’s dating an older man?!??!?! Still, 28 is a reasonable age…

“Why do you even have a boyfriend? You can have friends that are boys but you don’t need to have a boyfriend.”

“Yes I do! Everyone at school has a boyfriend or a girlfriend.”

Call me old and outdated, but I sure don’t remember that sort of thing going on in grade school back in my day. And who the hell told her she has to be stupid to earn some guy’s affection?

I remember my mother pulling me aside in high school, telling me I needed to dial it back a bit. “Boys don’t like girls who are smarter than they are.”

Maybe that’s true.

Maybe that’s been my problem all along.

But you know what? 

Bite me. 

My daughter knows that Pluto has a different orbit than the other “real” planets. It is smaller than Earth and is terribly cold. And you know what? It isn’t a planet because it has not cleared the neighborhood around its orbit.

Loving someone does not mean you have to agree with their silliness. Why some people still believe this is beyond me. 

She can still “love” you, Caden, but by golly she is gonna teach you ALL about Pluto today…

96 thoughts on “A Conversation

  1. Good for you! Let her learn early that she is worth being loved for who she is, not who they want to see themselves as being through her.
    Mind you, “but you’re Mum, you don’t count” is a phrase you’ll probably have to get used to too πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree. You cannot sacrifice your intelligence for a significant other, no matter the age. If a man can’t find your intellect sexy, then he should move on to someone as dumb as he. Harsh I know, but your mother’s comment set me off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What makes my mom’s comment so absurd was that I was not even allowed to date at that point. It wasn’t until I was 17 that I was allowed out of the house with a guy and then only to church functions!

      Like

  3. β€œHe’s in first grade. He’s my boyfriend but we can’t get married until we are twenty-eight. That’s the rule.” πŸ˜† Kids really are funny creatures. I’m just curious who set that rule in stone. πŸ˜€

    On a side note, it is kind of sad that kids so young have to feel the pressure of “needing” a boyfriend/girlfriend. It’s like no. Kids, just be kids. All of that adult stuff will come later. Worry about boyfriends and girlfriends then.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love should embrace these qualities and help the other to be the best version of themselves….including admiring all their awesome Pluto knowledge!! Love is humble where I’m from (okay maybe my heart just tells me so).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great advice! I remember having a crush on a guy when I was in kindergarten and he was in first grade. When I found out his reaction to my crush was wanting to give me a knuckle sandwich, I thought he wanted to share lunch with me. Then my older brother who was in 1st grade clued me in to what a knuckle sandwich was.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s amazing what they learn at 5 (and 6…). My daughter was all about space last year, and will still tell anyone who will listen about how Venus rotates the opposite direction of all the other planets. Mind blown. Every day we talk about how it’s wonderful to have a big, beautiful, beefy brain.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m currently and proudly watching my daughter raise my grandson, and I have to smile when I listen to her explaining things to him … echoes from her childhood bounce off the words. The word hate is classified as a word to be avoided, and the night sky holds wonder. He has a strong female teaching him that females have always been strong. Color me content.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “Bite me.” A more perfect response had not yet been created for insecure and inadequate men. My guess is you’ll pass that advice down from your mom in short order. Relatively speaking, of course…:)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The kids in LM’s classes (ever since kindergarten) have always been obsessed with having a girlfriend/boyfriend for whatever reason. LM said he’s too young for a girlfriend, that it’s silly, and he’ll think about it after he turns 13. Go boy!

    I hope your daughter teaches this Caden a thing or two πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Funny exchange and I love the way you handled it with your daughter. Way too many of us were brainwashed into thinking we had to be something other than ourselves to gain the appreciation of a man. These days if a man cannot appreciate me the way I am… Um, scratch that, I love being single. “Bite me” very wise words. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Your story made me smile! My son had his own Kindergarten “Book of Knowledge.” Her name was Kristen. She had a stunningly creative imagination. I was having to untangle “Kristenisms” nearly everyday while explaining to my dear son why this perfectly nice girl who sat on the bus with him wouldn’t tell him “real facts.” He was a stickler for “real facts.” Oy vey!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love it and your little girl!! My doctor friend and I used to disco dance in the 70’s while at college. There was not a hope of a snog or last dance if we said we were students of Medicine and Business. We changed it up – sometimes we were medical secretaries, librarians appeal to others. Eventually I married a bloody geologist and she married his best friend surveyor. πŸ’

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Writing Links in the 3s and 5…11/14/16 – Where Genres Collide

Leave a Reply

