Show Off

My son finished his piano solo at the Christmas program. Oh Little Town of Bethleham. He played every note perfectly. I was so dang proud of him! I stopped the video I was taking with my smartphone so I could clap like a crazy woman. I *might* have even shouted, “You are so frickin’ awesome!” 

All of the other kids took a bow or curtsied while the audience clapped politely. My son? He paused right there at center stage, a slow grin spreading across his face. And then? 

He dabbed. 

Yes, the boy dabbed. In the middle of the church auditorium in front of hundreds of people, he dabbed. Dabbing, the weird dance move that appears as if you are sneezing at the same time as you are trying to fly off like a super hero.

People laughed. They screamed. They cried. Some whistled. One woman fainted. Strangers were giving him high fives and knuckles as he sauntered back to his seat. Every single boy that followed after him on stage also dabbed at the end of their performance.

And so I was left wondering how on earth did I end up with a cool kid? I was never that cool. I was so square I couldn’t even dream of being that cool. I am still terribly uncool, even in adulthood. Especially in adulthood….

133 thoughts on “Show Off

  1. You should have been so proud of your “cool” son!.. Love the anecdote— and the peacock: great image (Did you know that it was a symbol for Hera, Zeusยดwife? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) … all the best to you! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dabbing? I learned something new. Thanks. Looks cool. Remember, Victoire, you can learn form everybody. Learn form your kids. Do some dabbin’ man! ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s up to you. I once played “gangnam style” at a conference I was giving. Great fun.
    (Let your hair hang down) And yes you can be proud. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

