Monochromatic is Problematic

Boy looking out from a bridge at a world of black and white.
I hit print on the office visit summary.

“Doc, where do your kids go to school?” she asked casually.

I told her where and then explained that I was looking for a new place as they were outgrowing their current school. She mentioned where her kids attended, saying I should look into it.

“It’s strong academically and it is a multicultural place: Indian, Muslim, white, black…”

Yes.

That is what I want. I want my kids to grow up understanding other cultures, not being afraid of them. 

I come from a long long of white trash, the kind of people the US government once wanted to keep out. My grandmother was a Polish immigrant. The rest of me is comprised of little bits from all over the world. Read American history. Over the years it has been the Chinese, the Irish, Polish, the Italians, Jews, Mexicans, Japanese, Catholics, among others, who have been feared, blocked, and vilified. They were stealing jobs, destroying the language and culture, threatening Protestantism…. it was always something. Who among any of us can say we do not have any immigrant blood running through our veins? 

It is the height of arrogance. 

We are too good for the likes of you. 

This is what the Third Reich said about Jews and gypsies and homosexuals. Keeping them out was not good enough. No. Why stop there? Kill them all.

We are forgetting, aren’t we? The survivors are dying and their voices are lost. 

So here I am. Just one little voice but I am telling you and everyone who will listen that I cannot be forced to fear or hate and as such, I do NOT support the current immigration ban. It does not make me feel safer. It makes me more afraid. 

Afraid for our future.

112 thoughts on “Monochromatic is Problematic

  1. Agree my fear comes from a new
    President whose behavior is most
    bizzarre.
    I come from a family of mixed breeds!
    No one except the Indigenous can claim this land.
    The rest of us are all immigrants, and yes
    we assimilated and became educated &
    earned our way in society.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Wise.
    In a group of liberals I would be (and have been) pilloried for having the opinion that it is OK for a nation to have immigration laws and to enforce them. Saying someone is here illegally is OK (but not PC). Somehow that gets turned into, “You hate immigrants! You’re a bigot!” Huh? Um. No. I’m all in favor of immigrants, and think the recent edicts are reprehensible and stupid (which gets me pilloried by so-called conservatives). There are systems in place, pretty lenient ones compared to Europe (try becoming a citizen of Liechtenstein). The wall? Give me a break. Banning muslims because of terrorism, but selecting countries to ban that had nothing to do with our major terrorism and letting people in from countries that did? There’s just so much wrongness in all of this stuff. A lot of us are afraid. One thing we have that Nazi Germany didn’t (if you’re one of the people, like me who has wondered “How did they let it get like that?”) is the Internet and social media. The blatant lies (ie: alternate facts) are immediately beamed all over the globe. Say one thing, delete it two hours later and deny it happened? Sorry, it’s already out there and will stay on record. As much as false news helped fuel this mess, real news beamed 24/7 with just a mouse click will help keep it from becoming Nazi America. I hope. Maybe. Please?

    The school sounds worth looking into, for sure. I held my breath as you were leading into that, thinking that the conversation could have swung the other way easily into awkward.

    Liked by 6 people

    • Social media for all of its evils does have that going for it. I am proud of the show of support at the airports right now, that people are being vocal, speaking out and asking questions, rather than passively rolling over and looking the other way.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Just yesterday, I was telling my husband that the wall being built at the Mexican border reminds me of the Berlin Wall. The lunacy will probably only expand. Maybe we need a wall at the Canadian border, too, ’cause they could come in that way. And let’s close all the seaports and airports, just to be sure. I’m glad I only eat American food, or they’d probably be coming after me, too.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. It is so easy to forget (for many) that as noted, unless you are truly “Native American” ie: directly descended from a tribe who lived on this land prior to European settlement, then you are in fact a product of immigration. I suppose if one wants to be literal in this new world then the majority of us should be sent packing back to wherever it was our familial line originated. I suspect that likely includes DT himself. I hope the door doesn’t hit him in the a** on his way out.
    Gah! I am so deeply unbelieving that our country has become this hateful place, but at the same time so proud that we are standing and fighting and resisting and calling out hypocrisy.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. I’m glad to know what side of the aisle or the world, you are on, as proven by a post or so ago. What a relief, although I felt you were progressive, fair minded and not a bigot. I probably should not be this out-spoken on your blog about agreeing with your views. Of late I’ve not had the inclination nor the time or energy to comment. But I like your post today. I hope you find that certain school for your children. The opportunity for learning diversity and to broaden their horizons will be tremendous.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for saying what needs to be said.
    I was so heartened by all the people that streamed to Kennedy Airport. Yes, we are all the descendants of immigrants (except maybe the Mexicans, many of whom actually do have a lot of Native American blood…). We need to keep protesting. Keep calling your Congresspeople, everyone! Even my “liberal” senator, Schumer, is not standing strong enough. We need to keep reminding them of how we feel.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I too am very afraid of what is happening in the world right now. I empathsise. The government here is a shambles. Trying to make deals with the wrong people. People who do not care about anyone else but themselves. I have no idea why poeple voted to leave Europe because if it does happen and it looks like it’s going to despite everything showing us it’s wrong, we are a tiny, tiny island in a very dangerous and volatile world right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey Victo,

    Passionate and purposeful and spoken from the heart: thoughts that should resonate with all who have half a mind to discern truth from fiction and see the writing on the wall..

    One turns in utter disbelief to the words in the last line of every stanza written for the American national anthem, ‘And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave, O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave.’ Who exactly are the free in modern day America, and what does freedom now actually represent? Indeed, how should one now feel when reciting the words, ‘And this be our motto: “In God is our trust”: Oh really? So where is the compassion, the love, the mercy, the kindness, the morality, the ethics, the inclusive spirit, and the spiritual dimension of God’s love in Trump’s radical policies and fervent idealism? Perhaps it is the same god who is referenced in the UK anthem God Save the Queen. Why should he save just her? By what right or privilege should such a gift of God’s love be exclusively given, and why must I sing in praise of a self-appointed monarch anyway? Perhaps this is yet another example of traditional elitist arrogance married to delusions of grandeur. No mortal should ever hold or be able to exercise dominion over another. If there is one consolation, included in the anthem God Save the Queen, are the lines, ‘Not in this land alone, But be God’s mercies known, From shore to shore, Lord make the nations see, That men should brothers be, And from one family, The wide world over.’

    Yours may be one small voice Victo, but millions stand shoulder to shoulder with you (on both sides of the Atlantic) to express their dismay, outrage and anger. Right-wing extremism grows in support daily across Europe as well, as middle-eastern and European refugees and transient migrating thousands flee the war zones around the world looking for peace and safety elsewhere. It seems that nowhere is safe from the filthy voice of racism nor the focused political agendas that underpin its emergence once again. These are despicable times manufactured by despicable and evil minds, and the people of the world really do need to wake up and see what travesties are being undertaken under the grand yet illusionary banner of democracy and freedom.

    I hope that given your extensive readership that your one small voice spreads like wild fire across the internet and into the hearts and minds of all. That is the power of the Internet, and it is a formidable weapon when wielded with honest intent and careful judgement.

    Thanking you Victo for being one voice of clarity in a global madhouse of confusion. Enjoy a wonderful Sunday afternoon and a fruitful week ahead. Take care 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 29/01/2017

    Liked by 2 people

      • When there is unity and union, when common sense, astute vision, and enlightenment prevail amongst the majority, then there is hope. One small voice creating a wave will swell to become an unstoppable tsunami bringing change in its wake.

        One should never give up fighting the one last worthwhile fight. It would be inhuman to do so 🙂

        Namaste

        DN – 29/01/2017

        Liked by 1 person

    • Some really are. My parents would be included in that. I have a difficult time understanding how that can be when presented with the facts. I’d love to hear a good, rationale response from an opposing view point that was not simply a spewing of hate. I want to understand. Right now, I just don’t get it.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I think you are a wonderful instrument of grass roots voicing. It heartens me to see peaceful protests and strong written words abound. It looks like we and the world are in for four years of turmoil. I continue to believe like Jesse Jackson that the long arc of history bends toward justice. And I am afraid for my grandchildren and the children everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Strong stuff – and your points couldn’t be more valid. Immigration has taken place since the word dot. Here in the UK, we’re all mixtures of so many peoples who invaded there islands over the centuries – and many Americans share those genes. That’s before we think about the people who have come to live in these lands over the last 100 years. Banning immigration is a way of fostering hatred and fear. Like you, I refuse to hate. Great post, Victo.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. There are many green card workers (legal residents of our country) who were off traveling internationally, and now can’t return home to their families. Very sad. This doesn’t seem the best way to fight terrorism, in my view, and I fear it could even be counterproductive.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What worries me is that trump is a lunatic. no telling what the narcissistic s.o.b. would do when his back is to the wall. hopefully he will rely on spouting his ‘alternate facts’ and live in the echo chamber of the sycophantic hordes who adore his brand of hatred and racism. Some one should offer him an exit strategy (no idea what that would be) so he will go, saving face (in his own mind) and leave the rest of us in peace.

    Liked by 2 people

    • He is volatile and unpredictable. That by itself is frightening. A rational person would see the outcry and back down but that is not who he is. He will try to assert his power. He does not understand what he needs to do to earn respect rather than fear.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. He’s a billionaire who doesn’t need anything. To him, his money is his respect. That’s why he is so dangerous. He is a pathological case. He is so used to winning and crushing anyone in his way that he has no other behavior in his quiver. The man treats those who are against him as his enemies and only listens to those who agree with him. Not a rational man. I can’t see how this will end well

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Know that over here on the other side of the world, we’re hearing about and seeing it all, too. Our news is saturated with stories, photos and videos, and my heart goes out to the people who can’t get ‘home’ to the US. The rest of the world is aghast at what he’s done and doing, and wholeheartedly back the protesters. Keep going, keep fighting, keep protesting in whatever little or big way you can. We’re 100% behind you. x

    Liked by 1 person

  15. My gran was a Polish immigrant as well. I detected a certain quality about you that I couldn’t put my thumb on. There you go.

    El Presidente fired out Attorney General last night. This is like a terrible nightmare. It feels like something really terrible is happening. And Quebec! Seriously, Canada?! We were looking up to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Almost 5 million Poles (3 million Jewish and 2 million non-Jewish) were killed in the Holocaust. Our grandparents were lucky. Meanwhile, I have a deep sense of foreboding… The world feels like a very different place than even a year ago.

      Like

  16. You have my full support “Victoire”. It is too easy to “forget” History. My grandfather fought all of WWI. My father didn’t (he was discharged by the french defeat). I’ve lived in so many countries that resorted to massive slaughter (after we left, thank God). And now the morons want to sweep History aside. No way. And… Americans have a responsibility. Yes. All of you guys. Stand up. Go to courts. Fight every inch of the way. The American way. For Justice. And you will have all my (and many others) support. 🙂
    (PS. Thank you for your thoughts)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I don’t live in the States but I stand with those offering resistance to recent events in the US since Donald Duck was elected. Love and compassion are powerful forces and I see so much of that around the world now which I hope will be a tide turning our world into a better place.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Thank you for sharing this. I feel the same way – I fear what will happen in the coming weeks and months – even though I’m half a world away (or quarter at least) !
    I appreciate both your perspective and how you write. Thanks again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I wholeheartily agree with you about fear breeding comtempt. I, also, am a sort of “Heinz 57” mixture of cultures. With the unique quality of having a paternal grandfather and maternal grandmother who lived here before there ever was a United States of America, as well as, my other grandparents’ descendants coming here through Ellis Island from Ireland, Germany and Italy just to name a few.
    That is probably why I have always loved diversity of people all things eclectic.
    That being said, I do not totally condemn the temporary immigration ban on countries whose chaotic governments are unable or unwilling the seek out and destroy terrorist cells within their own borders. We desperately need time to properly do background checks and process the large influx of immigrants that have arrived over this past year, especially here in Florida (while Cubans entering the country via the “wet foot” rule are here legally, it is a massive financial burden and processing nightmare on the state).
    I am for immigrants with current legal residency (green cards and visas) allowed to come and go as usual but, everyone else basically wait their turn to enter legally just as my Irish, German, English, French and Italian family members have done for centuries.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed. Screening is not the problem necessarily when done right. What is, is a haphazard ban that creates chaos like this one did, banning people from countries that have not been a threat to us while not affecting countries that have been. 🙂

      Like

      • I’m going to assume you’re talking about Saudi Arabia, Turkey, etc.. The difference to me is at least their governments are trying, like our own homegrown terrorist cells, you might not be able to eliminate all the dangers but at least there are laws and agencies in place to try and stop them.
        Also, immigration , as well as, homeland security needs time to fix what is broken and train /retrain their employees.
        Residency in the United States is a privilege, not a right; it is not too much to ask that our government tries to make certain those entering know, accept and will abide by our nation’s laws.
        Unfortunately, President Trump is neither articulate or eloquent but, on this one topic, he is not all wrong,

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

