Pecking Order

Flamingos fighting

Just take a nip 
Here and there
So I can be pretty
Fix my hair
Pull and tuck
Gouge at my eyes
Make me look pretty
Slim my thighs
Whiter teeth
A larger bust
I’m still not pretty
Another adjust
Raise those cheeks
Now my nose
Got to look pretty
Paint my toes
Some fuller lips
Sharper jaw
She is so pretty
Fills me with awe
Chisel me down
Tighter skin
I could be pretty
If I were thin
Sew me up
Dress me up
Give me more pain
So I can feel alive
So I can feel loved 
Still not happy
Just a pinch more
Want to be pretty
Want to be adored
Soon I’ll be there 
You wait and see
Soon I’ll be pretty
Soon I won’t be me

83 thoughts on “Pecking Order

  1. I am never at peace with myself. I have moments of connection with others but my age, skin color, my size and my sex are always reminders of how low on the “Pecking Order” I reside. As a “bottom feeder” and “bottom dweller”, I do have a perspective from which to look at the world. Perhaps, I might come to appreciate my role as observer but never participant. Love your work as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am me. This is who I am. I am content with how I look and if others don’t like it, they can go away. However, this post is a sad reflection on elements of our society and I really feel sorry, particularly for young girls who ruin how they look by trying to look like the girls they see in photographs of teenage magazines. It’s like the Kasey Chambers song ; “Am I not pretty enough”

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Pecking Order – NurSerial

  4. Shortly after the collapse of a long term relationship, I made an appointment with a plastic surgeon – to get my nosed fixed.

    Bless his heart, he had the good sense to ask me if I was “going through something” at the moment.

    “Yes,” I whimpered. He told me to go home and think it over. If I really wanted to get the job done, he’d do it, but he wanted me to be sure.

    I never saw him again.

    You are mightily talented, you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Pecking Order (a repost) – NurSerial

  6. Wonderful observation of our modern world. It’s too true for many. I don’t care about such things and to my detriment. I could stand to lose 50 pounds, but don’t care enough to start down that path. If my hair falls out, so be it. If I turn grey, I won’t be one of those guys that colors it. I should be more aware of the health risks of not caring enough though.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: #FreeBook, blog awards, and other failures #humor, #SundayBlogShare | Barb Taub

  8. Hey Victo 🙂

    Excellent! Beneath the cleaving draw of your inky scalpel you’ve tenderly sliced, snipped, spliced, split, picked poked and prodded, and penned a pretty impeccable poem. If what remains is the part that can still say ‘I am’, then that would be perfectly pretty as well 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 26/02/2017

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your message is important. We are bombarded by photos of women (and men, too I guess, but more women) who look like what you described so well. That’s why I occasionally buy those magazines with celebrities wearing no make up. Most of them look like the rest of us – their faces do anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Writing Links 3/6/17 – Where Genres Collide

  11. How is it that you just get better and better ? Is it practice ? Or have you just been giving us your talent in stages ?
    I’m way behind in catching up with posts but I’m plugging away to read them..
    This is a true gem 💛
    The poem, the message, the photo..
    🥇🏆⛥⛥⛥⛥⛥
    🤔 yes, I liked this a little bit..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

