A Virtual Reality Devotional

Stained glass window

The body lies prostrate

On the confessional floor

A weakened avatar

Your closed door

Heartbeat slowed

From afar

Fading finally

Into empty code

Mere tokens

Conquests

Meaningless and broken

Nothing of value

Can be taken

Only the memories of love

Gained and lost

And gained again

Virtual virtue

Virtually gone

And truth now clear

Life

Turned into fear

Death 

A final frontier

Hold your breath

It is not so painless 

As they wanted us

To believe

33 thoughts on “A Virtual Reality Devotional

  1. Well, this is leaving me pondering as to its/your intent/meaning.
    Meanwhile, part of the imagery made me flash on a little virtual photography fun I had a while back, especially the third shot of the slide show. We could do a book… 🙂 I just threw this page together because I didn’t know how else to show the pix, so I hope it works. The music link is optional but made me laugh. https://randomplaceholder.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

      • “Virtually” is effectively an interesting word these days and in poetry is a good one for discussions for deep reading. More or less… 🙂
        I don’t really fear (may even welcome) pulling the plug on my earthly avatar; it is the pain, virtual or otherwise, that may accompany it that concerns me, and how long it is protracted. Maybe that is one answer to one of my SoCS’s questions today.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Walking on Broken Glass and commented:
    From one of my fellow physicians who nailed so much with this piece. It’s great thought material from someone who sees the world as we all must see it. Thank-you Victo Dolore for writing this.

    Like

  3. OK, now this is troubling, if my reading is accurate.

    An avatar is a non-physical projection, right? So it’s not “me,” nor is it my “soul” because if there is such a thing as a soul it is not separate from my body ( we are not dual beings). So I see a profound sadness behind the poem’s implication that many in our science- and media-oriented world, who may have have left hundreds of years of philosophy and faith traditions behind, are lulled into thinking of life AS IF it were merely a dream, or a projection of our own self-centered fantasies. And when the hologram begins to dissolve, a new old reality makes itself known:

    And truth now clear
    Life
    Turned into fear

    We are physical beings. We decline. We die. If there is no philosophy or faith tradition to help address this fact, what’s left is either stoic courage or bucket-list distractions or dignified resignation. What makes the situation worse is the pairing of “Virtual virtue / Virtually gone.” Heavy thoughts for a Palm Sunday poem! But important, and real. (I apologize if I misread. I love poetry, but I get carried away.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

