Well…. It’s a Deep Subject

Water tower in a storm

It happened suddenly.

I was going along like I always have, working on several posts at once, when BAM! Out of the blue….

The frickin’ well dried up. 

There’s a string of half written posts saved in my que but when I go back and read them, they sound incredibly lame, like something I would roll my eyes over if someone else posted it. Seriously. So embarrassing.

Gah.

Why? I have asked myself this over and over again. Is it possible that I have simply burned out? Is there just nothing left to say anymore? Am I too happy in my current life to stir up anything angst worthy enough to post? Is it a time issue?

Or is it something else…

And then I realized that just like I had been in the habit of blogging and reading for so long, I was suddenly out of the habit. Do you all know how much time I put into this every day? Newbies have no idea. Then life happened and here I am, weeks later. People are noticing how quiet I have been and honestly I don’t even know what to say to them.

So I don’t say anything at all.

The words are coming back, though. I just have to do things differently in order to preserve my sanity. Please bear with me as I try to figure out exactly what “differently” means….

In the meantime, I am not dead nor have I suffered from some terrible tragedy. My fingers are all intact and I am working my way back. Thank you to everyone who took notice and said something and even to those who didn’t.

I love you all!

254 thoughts on “Well…. It’s a Deep Subject

  1. Just last night I was telling my husband about you, your blog, and how you suddenly disappeared. The bloggers we follow are more than just random posts in the ether. They become familiar entities – even friends – and they are missed when they suddenly go silent.

    Imagine my surprise to see your name pop up in my mailbox today! …. and relief to hear that everything is ok. Welcome back πŸ™‚

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Totally understand. I find things to write about by reading people’s posts and comments on stuff….. When I find myself writing a long comment, I realise I might just have a lot to write about that subject. I am sure your mojo will come back. The little snippets of your past experiences is what inspired me to write my SOMY series (Stories of My Past).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have the same kind of crap in my cue too, Victo. It’s not so much a question of time with me, but rather that I a good idea sometimes that loses its luster the more I try to flesh it out. I echo all the others in that you have been missed. Good to see you back!
    Rich

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LOL I thought you were probably on a well deserved vacation with your kids….out frolicking and having fun…..I never worry if I stay away for awhile, sometimes life just happens, pretty sure most of us understand that…but it is nice to be missed…..LOL I also say for those post you have reread and think are terrible…we all take the good and bad together….that’s what makes us human, so post them…and with someone like yourself, fully employed 40, 60 80+ hours a week, a mum with kids on top of it…I applaud you….glad your back….sorry it wasn’t the Riviera though….and I did miss you…..xxkat

    Liked by 1 person

      • LOL you can always close your eyes and dream your in France while taking a nice long hot bath and an expensive bottle of a French Champagne…..works for me….LOL candles and bubbles are a nice addition…..lol

        Liked by 2 people

  5. I have been thinking of you as well and thought that maybe you had taken a trip or just became tired of blogging. I don’t always comment but I read all your posts. Take your time. Probably all bloggers have been in your shoes. I think that posting so often causes one to burn out a lot faster.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I more than understand where you’re coming from. I have been so preoccupied with publishing my first novel and writing my latest one that I barely post anymore. I will wait patiently for ya! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, nobody who has work, life, family and other duties can blog every day. My personal biggest issue is health and treatments. They take time and make one extremely exhausted, so I don’t even try to put more pressure on myself.
    I think, it’s a smart decision to post when you can and can do that with pleasure.
    I know people who overworked themselves and got seriously sick. Balance is the key to everything in life and on this planet, and even beyond it’s borders.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. You raise a bunch of interesting issues. Writer’s block happens, it’s just never happened to me. I’ve been able to force my way through it. It could happen though. Also if I die, my place will just go silent. It would be nice if someone could update everyone. It would have to be someone who would know what happened in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Glad you’re still alive. I’ve given up the daily routine myself. Now it’s just an occasional post, whenever the spirit moves me. Got too many other things to take care of.

    Perhaps instead of your well running dry, it will tap into a deeper, purer aquifer, that takes longer to pump out.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry about the crazy amount of chapters! I’ve been a little busy these past couple months (to put it mildly πŸ˜† ) Mainly because I have a couple of plot points all planned out in my head and I’m trying to work my way up to them.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Honestly – I have always wondered what would happen if i should succumb to illness or death – who would tell my fellowship? Hmm. AND Of course you are allowed to feel dried up – thats OK – you are human. That is normal. Watch some movies in the evenings instead. Because out of nowhere you will suddenly find the new juicy vein. Maybe soon. Maybe not. I just watched Manchester on the Sea – stunning film. (and free on amazon prime – I am a whore for amazon prime).. have fun.. come on over – bring the kids – we have piglets!! c

    Liked by 1 person

  11. No. Newbies don’t understand yet how blogging can goggle up the hours and occasionally overwhelm. Pacing is important, and sometimes blogging just runs its course too and its time for different adventures than the virtual kind. At the very least, there’s a constant struggle for balance. It’s all good. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Relieved to find out it was just a case of temporary “dry well.” I thought you went on a long vacation and then of course, if something happened to distract you. It could have been a good distraction too, but our human nature tend to think the worst things first. You can probably say a lot about this whole healthcare insurance fiasco. It would take several posts to explain the current and to what might be. Yikes

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Missed your posts and thought WordPress was playing tricks. Never fear sometimes you just have to give yourself a break. Non bloggers just don’t realise that this ‘little interest’ of ours can take up as many hours as a part time job. And like any job you need to have a holiday or a change of scenery once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m glad to read this. I have been searching for your posts when I dig through the newsfeed, but haven’t seen you. Was worried, but I am no longer.

    As you know, I’m well aware of what you’re dealing with. Sometimes you spend so much time saying things that you forget to take the time to be still and learn. I’m right there with you. No rush.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I’ve been going through something similar, or maybe the same thing. With so much to read, maybe nobody noticed. Very busy, lots of family things requiring travel, plus general upset over politics. Assessing how to address issues and my writing. Desiring a change. It all takes much thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I’ve been going through something similar, or maybe the same thing. With so much to read, maybe nobody noticed. Very busy, lots of family things requiring travel, plus general upset over politics. Assessing how to address issues and my writing. Desiring a change. It all takes much thought. Plus my dog died. Been feeling sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Here’s an idea. (I’m good at ideas. Not so good at carrying them out.) Let your friends know that you will try to visit once a week, with maybe a surprise drop-in occasionally. That way you will feel free– when something hits you — to jot down or type out drafts without the expectation of their being sent on. You might be delighted at how much easier it is to write this way and still keep other important things in balance. Of course it all depends on why you started on this road

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really enjoyed reading. I think of blogging as a reciprocal relationship, but of late it feels like I am spending so much time reading I don’t have time for blogging or even breathing. So, I am going to have to change how I read, making cuts here and there. Keeping up with the reading is the hardest part of this. I love it, don’t get me wrong. There are some really amazing bloggers/writers that I follow. I hate to miss anything.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know about reading. You are let into the lives of so many unique persons. It’s partly like being back in school–stimulation everywhere, but far more depth. And naturally you want to converse after listening to (i.e., reading) someone’s story. Thus the comment sections, which are interesting and special in themselves. Blogs are rather amazing opportunities for . . . (I could have said “sharing”) . For learning about life from afar (or from persons like the friend in Matthew Arnold’s poem ” Who saw life steadily, and saw it whole.”)

        Liked by 1 person

  18. It totally brightened my day to see a post from you!!
    I was missing your posts and kept going back to my reader and looking. Was blaming my “Reader”, thinking that they were somehow hiding your posts. πŸ™‚
    Very glad to hear that no tragedy has befallen you. I understand the Writer’s Block and am sure that you will get through it and come out with posts better than ever!
    Until then, we your fans will be patiently waiting πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I have to say that I did notice…even though I have been a bit absent. I like how you said you had to figure out what ‘differently’ means. I get it…and I am facing the same issue. Life has a way of interfering with the things we like, and I know that blogging here has in many ways liberated my soul, so it is important to find ‘a way’ to keep it in our lives. I don’t think I ever spent as much time as you have blogging…and I have always marveled at your commitment. Here’s some beautiful energy to assist you in figuring it all out!! Namaste…many blessings. I have ALWAYS enjoyed all that you have written. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Stepping away from something, for however long it may take, always brings a new perspective. It’s healthy to do this before feeling resentful and burned out. All of your readers will still be here to soak up your humor and insightfulness when you’re ready to come back.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I’ve always wondered how you could post daily with your job and family. It is a lot to keep up with! Glad you’re taking care of yourself. Every post doesn’t have to be a masterpiece, or so I’m telling myself as I prepare a mediocre post. But you never know. It’s just good to share our experience or an update. Thanks for this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Hello, Victor, I guess it happens with many of us at some point or the other. There was a time I used to write almost every day and read so many posts, now there are times when I struggle for ideas or even if the ideas come up I don’t feel motivated enough to write or even if I write, don’t feel motivated enough to read. Maybe we outgrow the habit or question its futility or the routine becomes so monotonous that we need a break before continuing again.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Love you too. I do know how much time you put in every day. πŸ™‚
    I don’t think the well has dried, but, again, this could be an opportunity to not push yourself too hard.
    You don’t have to post every day. (I never could)
    Good to have you back, Victoire. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I go through this…
    one of my problems is how I start to feel like a broken record when I am working through some situation. I tend to gnaw on things until they lose all their flavor- and I don’t know how often I can write the same thing.

    Looking for inspiration every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I’ been missing your blog – but figured I’d been cut off. The digital gods have disconnected me from other blogs for unknown reasons. But I’m glad you’re back and ’nuff said. We all go through quiet periods. I’m a fits and starts gal – sometime post three times a week and sometimes just twice a month. Don’t feel pressured, just let life move you!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Victo, take heart. I have a document file entitled,’Dreck’. It’s to remind me not to get too impressed with myself. I find petting my cat is a good way to reconnect. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I am a blogger that suffers from mental constipation and then I get hit with verbal diarrhea! I blog in spurts (oh my gosh….the visual is just too gross). I would much rather read someone’s blog who has interesting stuff but posts unregularly (is that even a word?) than someone who posts everyday but it is mostly tripe. Your stuff is well worth waiting for!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Wow, YES! I feel JUST that way. Now that you mention it, maybe that’s part of what’s wrong that I’m having such a hard time getting back into being productive/creative after so long a period of being interrupted. What five kids and twins didn’t sap from me, helping needy friends recently has, though I love to be useful. Your thoughts have given me insight and courage to jump in again, even if it’s just a little bit every day.

    You are one of the few bloggers I have come across, that with so many of your posts I find myself surprised at your insight as well as your skill and ingenuity with words. You have a gift, and “gifts” of inspiration are not always entirely in our control?…’Glad you’re back. (-:

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Working in medicine opened my eyes to so many things. Motherhood too. Sometimes I NEED blogging as an outlet, a pressure release valve. Sometimes there is just too much pressure. Letting off even a little steam will cause the whole thing to explode. πŸ™‚ It’s good to be back!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

