Getting the Worm

Flowers in the NYC Metropolitan Museum of Art

“Mommy? Can I go potty?” 

Her voice pulled me out of a deep sleep in the midst of a nightmare about a movie set with Nicole Kidman and a patient who ran a telephone ministry dial-a-prophetess line. The movie was to be a psychological thriller. The prophetess had just robbed me of money and souvenirs I had pilfered from the set. I am not sure what a dream like that says about my life right now…

“Sure, baby. You don’t even have to ask, you know.” I have lost count of how many I times I’ve said this to her. 

“Ok!” 

I heard her skip down the hall to the bathroom. I glanced over at the clock. 3AM. I would have groaned out loud but that would have taken too much energy.

A minute or two later…

“Mommy, I wiped but I didn’t flush because I didn’t want to wake anyone up.”

“Thanks, sweetie. Go on back to bed.”

“Ok!”

And I heard her skip back down the hall to her bedroom.

Sleep? For me, it was gone. Just like that I was turned into the early bird. Too bad I don’t like worms.

87 thoughts on “Getting the Worm

  1. Oh how I remember those days. PS would you like a small giggle. Whatever.
    A fellow goes to see his doctor.
    Doc I’m having a lot of trouble getting up in the morning. And having a shave is becoming difficult so I only shave once or twice a week. And it’s too far to walk to the bus and the car needs to be taken to the shop for repairs so I haven’t been able to get to work for a while. What do you think could be the problem?
    The doctor ran a few test and said she thought she had the answer.
    Great. I know my wife will be pleased. What do you think the trouble is?
    I think you’re just plain lazy.
    Oh! Good. But can you tell me what the medical term is for that. I’ll need to tell my wife.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hey Victo,

    I heard the withheld long drawn out heavy sigh in this post…the one you didn’t have energy for at 3a.m 🙂

    I recall a family member had a bed-wetting problem when younger. To help the child the parents were advised to acquire a bed-wetting alarm: a large sheet of closely woven metal mesh hooked up to an alarm and placed atop the mattress under the sheets. When the metal mesh sensed moisture the alarm was tripped to sound. The first night it was used the child wet the bed, the alarm sounded, but the child didn’t wake, the parents did. Perhaps at wits end the father adjusted the alarm volume, cranking it up to max. The following night the child wet, the alarm sounded, the parents woke as did neighbours on both sides of their terrace house, but the child slept through it all. 🙂

    I have no idea of what your nightmare may mean. Wishing you an undisturbed nights sleep and chance to dream of psychological thrills instead of psychological thrillers perhaps 🙂

    Namaste 🙂

    DN

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL!! Love the “I didn’t flush because I didn’t want to wake anyone up!” But yet she has wakened you up! Gotta love them!
    I do wonder about your dream, you could write a story possibly about that! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I remember being a child and being told the SAME thing. Funny, I didn’t have any kids like that. I’m not usually one to wake up and stay up, but I don’t like it when that does happen to me, so you have my sympathies. Hopefully the day wasn’t too rough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fatigue is something you become intimate with in medical school and from then on, it never leaves your side. Now it is not so much medicine that interrupts my sleep as my kids but that is a beautifully wonderful thing. Even though I don’t like worms. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. At 5:30 am my alarm goes off. Up and dressed. At 5:45 rugged up against the cold, leash on the dog and out we go. Not quite potty, but close. At this time in the morning (it’s still winter here) it’s quiet, peaceful, dark and peopleless. Mind you, breakfast and coffee afterwards, is very enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. One day you will be old and getting yourself up at 3am to go potty. I hope when that happens in the far future, you will smile and think of this time with your daughter.
    I used to get up at 4 am to write….. sadly, I had to give that up because I was falling asleep by 2 pm…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. At least she didn’t just stand next to your bed and stare at you! My daughter did that to me once, and I almost had a heart attack. When I asked her why she would do that, she told me it was because she didn’t want to startle me awake! How is it, that you can feel someone looking at you when you are sound asleep?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My sleep either gets interrupted by my own bathroom visits or by my adult sons’ noises as they go to bed at 2:00 or 3:00 a.m. One is unemployed, and the other works weird hours. He doesn’t have to be up early so he goes to bed when he feels like it. I’ve reached an age where I go to bed before they do.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cute on your daughter’s part but unfortunately not for you. Sorry to hear you lost a good night’s sleep. I have cats who decide to curl around my head in the wee hours making me so hot I cannot sleep. And no I don’t move cause that is one sign they are in pain to be addressed when I drag my butt out of bed. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Trust me one day you will look back and wish she was running down the hall in the middle of the night as the years have past….I know we are suppose to raise them to fly the nest…but man the heart yearns for those little pidder padders of bare feet running down the hall looking for mommy…..love the post

    Liked by 2 people

  11. If it makes you feel any better, my 21 year old wakes me up every night when he gets home from work. 1am, 2am,3am or sometimes even 4am. Sometimes he just hugs me and says goodnight but most nights he wants to have a conversation. Lucky for me, I usually fall back asleep. I guess I should be happy he still hugs me and says goodnight. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. You are a lucky mom in a way. One of my little brothers would walk in his sleep and my mother could not be woken. She slept like a rock. I would wake up and find my brother trying to find the toilet in the corner of the stairway landing and had to gently walk him back up the stairs to the bathroom and then back to bed. Since mom never woke at night, I took care of all those night time problems.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Unique Blogger Award – A Writer's Beginning

      • I studied Freud in College for two years. (Weird curriculum) actually read all his “Introduction to psychoanalysis”. Twice. 🙂 His interpretation of dreams can be… just interpretation. Current consensus as I understand it is that dreams “reconstruct” your day. Mending and soothing, but basically repairing. Hence their great utility. Of course dreams can go astray in case of shock and trauma. The Soviets had designed a torture technique to wake prisoners when they started having REM. Everyone cracked in a few dreamless nights. Dreams are indispensable. (Awake or asleep) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

